COM 4813: Communicating Identity and Difference (DeTurk)

Guide for Professor Sara DeTurk's course.

Internet Resources

The resources below are listed in addition to the online resources available on other portions of this guide.

glbtq Encyclopedia Project
The glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The site grew to become the largest glbtq encyclopedia ever created thanks to the work of its editors and more than 350 contributors. Addition of new content to the website stopped in 2015 due to lack of funding.
LGBT Video Game Archive
A curated/researched collection of information of LGBTQ content in digital games from 1980s-present. Image designed by Christopher Persaud (2016).
Wearing Gay History
Home to the digitized t-shirt collections of numerous lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender archives across the United States.
Image: Wearing Gay History T-shirt. UTSA Libraries Special Collections.

San Antonio LGBTQ Publications

Image: San Antonio Lesbian and Gay Assembly Records, MS 118, UTSA Libraries Special Collections.

LGBTQ Publications collection

The LGBTQ Publications collection includes publications from the holdings of UTSA Special Collections, as well as the HAPPY Foundation Archives.

These publications include The Calendar, The Marquise, San Antonio Community News, and the Rainbow Gazette. They have been digitized and are available for online viewing and research.