- Find Information
- Research Guides
- COM 3073: Conduct of Communication Inquiry (Zhang)
COM 3073: Conduct of Communication Inquiry (Zhang)
A guide for Juyan Zhang's Conduct of Communication Inquiry course.
Librarian
Key Journals in Communication
Key journals in the communication field are linked below. Browsing journals is a good way to get ideas of topics discussed by communication scholars and to explore topics that you could use for your annotated bibliography and literature review for this class.
- Click a tab below to browse journals by broad category.
- After selecting a journal, select Available Online in Library Quick Search in order to access the full journal from the UTSA Libraries.
- You will need to log in with your abc123 and passphrase in order to access.
Key Journals
- Communication Monographs
Features theoretically grounded research dealing with human symbolic exchange across the broad spectrum of interpersonal, group, organizational, cultural and mediated contexts in which such activities occur. - Communication Quarterly
Features research reports, critical studies, state of the art reviews, reports of topical interest, supported opinion papers, and other essays related to the interest groups of ECA and its affiliate organizations. - Communication Reports
Communication Reports (CR), published quarterly, is one of two scholarly journals of the Western States Communication Association (WSCA). The journal publishes original manuscripts that are short, data/text-based, and related to the broadly defined field of human communication. - Communication Research Reports
Contains original empirical research in the form of brief articles on a variety of topics of human communication:
interpersonal, organizational, communication traits, intercultural, nonverbal, small group, health, persuasion, mass, political, relational, computer mediated, and life-span. - Howard Journal of Communications
A quarterly journal that publishes original and current research papers focusing on ethnicity and culture as they interact with communication. It includes a variety of topics such as gender, ethnic representations in the media, interracial issues, cultural resistance, and much more. - Human Communication Research
Human Communication Research is one of the official journals of the prestigious International Communication Association and is read by more than 3,500 of its members. It is a top-ranked communication studies journal and one of the top ten journals in the field of human communication. Major topic areas for the journal include language and social interaction, nonverbal communication, interpersonal communication, organizational communication and new technologies, mass communication, health communication, intercultural communication, and developmental issues in communication. - Journal of Communication
The Journal of Communication (JOC) is the flagship journal of the International Communication Association. It focuses on communication research, practice, policy, and theory. The journal is a general forum for communication scholarship and focuses on intra-disciplinary research and related sub-fields. - Western Journal of Communication
One of two scholarly journals of the Western States Communication Association (WSCA). It has a history of history of publishing research across rhetorical and media studies, interpersonal and intercultural communication, critical and cultural studies, language behavior, performance studies, small group and organizational communication, freedom of speech, and health and family communication.
- Journal of Applied Communication Research
Contains original and theoretical research articles that contribute to knowledge about how people practice communication across diverse applied contexts.
- Computers in Human Behavior
Original theoretical works, research reports, literature reviews, software reviews, book reviews and announcements. It addresses both the use of computers in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines as well as the psychological impact of computer use on individuals, groups and society. - Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media
A quarterly journal that presents timely research articles about new developments, trends, and innovations in electronic and digital communication to advance scholarly discoveries and real-world solutions.
- Communication Education
Communication Education publishes original scholarship that advances understanding of the role of communication in the teaching and learning process in diverse spaces, structures, and interactions, within and outside of academia. - Communication Teacher
A peer-reviewed publication of the National Communication Association. The journal publishes original scholarship that considers the practice and assessment of the teaching of communication across K-2, university/college, and other educational contexts.
- Health Communication
A mostly data-based journal, that also publishes pedagogical, methodological, theoretical, and applied articles using both quantitative or qualitative methods. - Journal of Health Communication
A journal that covers the communication of health information globally - Journal of Health Psychology
Peer-reviewed journal that addresses the social contexts in which psychological and health processes are embedded.
- Journal of International and Intercultural Communication
A peer-reviewed journal of original scholarship that expands understanding of international, intercultural, and cross-cultural communication. - Journal of Intercultural Communication Research
A journal that focuses on interrelationships between culture and communication. - Journal of International Communication
A journal that focuses on global issues concerning communication that are not circumscribed by the national borders of states.
- Discourse Processes
Publishes articles on discourse areas: discourse--prose comprehension and recall, dialogue analysis, text grammar construction, computer simulation of natural language, cross-cultural comparisons of communicative competence, and other related topics. - Journal of Nonverbal Behavior
The Journal of Nonverbal Behavior publishes peer-reviewed original theoretical and empirical research papers on all major areas of nonverbal behavior. The coverage extends to paralanguage, proxemics, facial expressions, eye contact, face-to-face interaction, and nonverbal emotional expression, as well as other relevant topics which contribute to the scientific understanding of nonverbal processes and behavior. - Quarterly Journal of Speech
A peer-reviewed publication of the National Communication Association. The journal publishes original scholarship and book reviews that take a rhetorical approach to diverse texts, discourses, and cultural practices through which public beliefs, norms, identities, institutions, affects, and actions are constituted, empowered, enacted, and circulated.
- Language & Communication
A journal that focuses attention on the many ways in which language is integrated with other forms of communicational activity and interactional behavior. - Quarterly Journal of Speech
A peer-reviewed publication of the National Communication Association. QJS publishes original scholarship and book reviews that take a rhetorical approach to diverse texts, discourses, and cultural practices through which public beliefs, norms, identities, institutions, affects, and actions are constituted, empowered, enacted, and circulated. - Research on Language and Social Interaction
Contains empirical and theoretical research articles covering language as it is used in interaction. - Southern Speech Communication Journal
The scholarly journal of the Southern States Communication Association (SSCA). The Southern Communication Journal contains research articles on the processes and consequences of human communication within a broad range of communication sub-disciplines. - Texas Speech Communication JournalResearch in the discipline of communcation. Includes practical advice to teachers in K-12, as well as university instructors.
- Western Journal of Communication
One of two scholarly journals of the Western States Communication Association (WSCA). The journal is dedicated to the publication of original scholarship that enhances an understanding of human communication. Contains both theoretical and original research article from many perspectives: rhetorical and media studies, interpersonal and intercultural communication, critical and cultural studies, language behavior, performance studies, small group and organizational communication, freedom of speech, and health and family communication.
- Gender, Work, and Organization
This journal publishes multi-disciplinary, high quality qualitative empirical research on gendered power relations and identities in the study of work and organization exploring issues of inclusion and exclusion. It publishes quantitative work guided by critical epistemologies on issues such as the gender pay gap, flexible work, career patterns, women on boards and access to leadership positions. - International Journal of Business Communication
Contains original research articles that contribute to knowledge and theory of business communication. - International Journal of Strategic Communication
A journal the covers the philosophical, theoretical, and applied nature of strategic communication. - Journal of Business Communication
Quarterly peer-reviewed journal with articles on topics in the field of business communication. - Journal of Business Communication
Peer-reviewed articles that address all areas of business communication including, but not limited to, business composition/technical writing, information systems, international business communication, management communication, and organizational and corporate communication. - Journal of Marketing Communications
This journal contains research papers, information on all aspects of marketing communication, and promotion management. - Management Communication Quarterly
A peer-reviewed quarterly that publishes research from across the organizational and management communication fields. - Public Relations QuarterlyArticles, commentary, interviews, profiles, book reviews, news of note and special issues for professionals in public relations.
- Public Relations Review
This journal publishes research articles and commentaries, invited research in brief, and book reviews in the fields of public relations, mass communications, organizational communications, public opinion formations, social science research and evaluation, marketing, management and public policy formation. - Qualitative Research in Organizations and Management: an International Journal
This journal seeks to provide a forum for qualitative researchers through which they can share their work with others and, in particular, discuss issues of research practice pertinent to qualitative approaches.
- Communication Theory
Covers original communication research from an international perspective and includes articles on the theoretical development of communication from a wide array of disciplines.
- American Sociological Review
Contains articles of interest to the sociology discipline in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. - Child Development
General journal that has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930. Spanning many disciplines, the journal provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers. - Developmental PsychologyA peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on theories about human development across the life span.
- Family Process
An international, multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal committed to publishing original articles, including theory and practice, philosophical underpinnings, qualitative and quantitative clinical research, and training in couple and family therapy, family interaction, and family relationships with networks and larger systems. - Family Relations
An international journal of applied family studies. It is a journal of the National Council on Family Relations. Articles published in Family Relations are original, innovative and interdisciplinary. Focusing on diverse families and family issues, the content always addresses the needs of practitioners, including specific recommendations for prevention and intervention. - International Journal of Cross-Cultural Management
This journal provides a specialized academic medium and main reference for the encouragement and dissemination of research on cross cultural aspects of management, work, and organization. This includes both original qualitative and quantitative empirical work as well as theoretical and conceptual work which adds to the understanding of management across cultures. The Journal also promotes an understanding of the role of culture which is able to guide both theory and practice. - Journal of Adolescence
This journal addresses issues of professional and academic importance concerning development between puberty and the attainment of adult status within society. The focus is specifically on adolescent development. - Journal of Advertising Research
A journal that provides up-to-date and practical information, as well as theoretical discussions on diverse aspects of advertising, marketing, and media research. - Journal of Applied Social Psychology
A monthly publication devoted to applications of experimental behavioral science research to problems of society (e.g., organizational and leadership psychology, safety, health, and gender issues; perceptions of war and natural hazards; jury deliberation; performance, AIDS, cancer, heart disease, exercise, and sports). - Journal of Early Adolescence
A journal that covers developmental psychology, educational psychology, human development and family studies, psychiatry, public health, social work, and sociology with the latest work concerning original theoretical work, empirical research as well as science-based practices regarding the early adolescent developmental period (10 through 14 years of age). - Journal of Family Issues
Issues feature articles, commentaries, and advocacy pieces designed to help readers understand the challenges confronting today's families. - Journal of Language and Social Psychology
A journal focusing on social psychology and language, featuring original full-length articles, short research notes and book reviews. - Journal of Marriage and the Family
This journal features original research and theory using the variety of methods reflective of the full range of social sciences, including quantitative, qualitative, and multi-method designs; research interpretation; integrative review; reports on methodological and statistical advances; and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families. The journal also publishes brief reports. - Journal of Personality and Social PsychologyA peer-reviewed journal that publishes papers in all areas of personality and social psychology.
- Journal of Social and Personal Relationships
A journal of original research on social and personal relationships. It publishes empirical and theoretical papers on social and personal relationships. It is multidisciplinary in scope, drawing material from the fields of social psychology, clinical psychology, communication, developmental psychology, and sociology. - Journal of Social Issues
A journal that brings behavioral and social science theory, empirical evidence, and practice to bear on human and social problems. Each issue of the journal focuses on a single topic. - Journal of Youth and Adolescence
This journal functions as a high-level medium of communication for psychologists, psychiatrists, biologists, criminologists, educators, and professionals in many other allied disciplines who address the subject of youth and adolescence. The journal publishes papers based on quantitative analyses, theoretical papers, and comprehensive review articles. - Small Group Research
This journal offers the latest research, theory and empirically supported applications. It is devoted to increasing communication among specialists who are interested in the systematic study of small groups and small group phenomena. - Social Psychology Quarterly
A journal that publishes theoretical and empirical papers on the link between the individual and society. This includes the study of the relations of individuals to one another, as well as to groups, collectivities, and institutions. It also includes the study of intra-individual processes as they substantially influence, or are influenced by, social structure and process.
