- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Ceramics
Ceramics
Librarian
Special thanks to Ovidio Giberga, Associate Professor of Art for numerous resource recommendations.
Where Are the Books?
The UTSA Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to assign call numbers to books so that you can find them on the shelves.
Browsing for ceramics/pottery books can be a challenge! They may be in several different places in the Library. Most ceramics books will be found under NK. Many books on glazes will be under TP because they are about chemical processes. Technical aspects of pottery making may be found under TT. If you are looking for books about Native American pottery, such as Zuni or Moche pottery, you may find them under call numbers E or F (History of the Americas).
N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts (most Ceramics books are here)
NX Arts in general
TP Chemical technology (includes some Ceramics/Pottery, esp. glazes)
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts (Pottery)
Ten Thousand Years of Pottery by Call Number: NK3780 .C663 2000
Example: NK3780 .C663 2000 is the call number for the book:
How to Find a Book
- How to Find a Book (Part 1)This short (less than 2-minute) video explains how to find the call number and library location for a physical book at UTSA using its title or a specific topic.
- How to Find a Book (Part 2)In this short (less than 2-minute) video learn how to use the call number and library location to locate your book on the shelf in UTSA Libraries.
Reference / Design / Forms
Click on a title to check its availability.
- The New Ceramics: Trends + Traditions byCall Number: NK3930 .D67 1986
- Ceramic Form: Design and Decoration byCall Number: NK3930 .L35 1988
The Ceramics Reader by Call Number: NK4240 .C47 2017
The Potter's Guide to Ceramic Surfaces by Call Number: TT920 .C636 2002
The Potter's Palette by Call Number: TT922 .C653
New Ceramic Design by Call Number: TT920 .D49 1999
The Art of the Islamic Tile by Call Number: NK4670.7.A78 D4413 2002
Ceramic Figures: A Directory of Artists by Call Number: NK4660 .F58 2002
The Potter's Directory of Shape and Form by Call Number: NK4235 .F53 1998
The Potter's Dictionary of Materials and Techniques by Call Number: TT919.5 .H35 2015Publication Date: 2015
The Ceramic Narrative by Call Number: NK4235 .O8 2006
The Ceramic Surface by Call Number: TT920 .O84 2002
Art / Artist Background Info Online
- AHRnet: Art History Research net This link opens in a new windowFour related and cross-searchable databases including ReVIEW, a digitized, fully-searchable collection of rare out of print decorative and fine arts journals from the late nineteenth to the early twentieth centuries; Arts + Architecture ProFILES, a biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects; Arts: Search Research Guides on a variety of art-related topics; and DAR: Design Abstracts Retrospective, a retrospective of DAAI: Design & Applied Arts Index. DAR provides access to more than 70 design and design-related journals, from 1900-1986. See also DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index.
