- Find Information
- Research Guides
- SOC 4433: Culture and Society (Halley)
SOC 4433: Culture and Society (Halley)
Guide for Dr. Jeffrey Halley's SOC 4433 Culture and Society course with a special focus on avant-gardes in art and social movement.
- Getting Started
- Finding E-Books & Background Info
- Finding Books in Print
- Finding Images
- Video Collections
Finding Journal Articles on Dada and Politics
When studying the art movement Dada and political change or politics, Library Quick Search is a great place to get started. Remember to limit to articles with the topics of social sciences or related fields like political science, sociology, or art.
Some terms to try when searching:
Movement: dada OR "anti-art" OR "avant-garde" OR surrealism OR fluxus OR minimalism
Politics: politic* or "political change" or "social change"
Library Quick Search
Other databases relevant to this area of study are listed below.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts current literature of modern art, photography, and design from more than 550 art journals, museum bulletins, exhibition catalogs, and books. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art including performance art and installation art, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration and more as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
- International Bibliography of Art (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive art bibliography, IBA picks up where the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) left off, with content published from 2008 to the present. Covers European and American art from late antiquity through the early 21st century. Includes the fine arts and decorative and applied arts. Indexes art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and journal articles. One of its strengths: indexing specialized international publications that are not widely distributed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowOffers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts thousands of journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, many in full text. Also includes full-text books, monographs, and conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in the early 1880s, but most coverage begins in the late 1990s.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts thousands of international journals in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
Like Library Quick Search, Google Scholar is a great place to search across multiple areas of study at one time. Be sure to link your Google account with the UTSA in order to see full text content already paid for by the UTSA Libraries.