EDP 6213: School-Based Counseling Theories (Guerra)

Do you work with angry children? Are you wondering why young people don't listen when they are angry? Are you exhausted from trying to understand angry behaviour? Anger Managementis a practical guide that will help you to stay calm in the face of angry outbursts from children and young people. Written by chartered psychologists with extensive experience in the field, this helpful book will: increase your understanding of anger offer you a range of practical management interventions help you to manage your own behaviours to build more effective relationships reduce the stress experienced by staff and parents who lack confidence in the face of aggressive behaviour. With stress and anger levels amongst young people at an all time high, this second edition ofAnger Managementis particularly timely. It reflects the significant developments in the field of neuro-psychology and our understanding of the physiology of emotions. It also identifies the significant changes in legislation and guidance that have taken place in education and health and social care over the last decade and explores the implications of these changes for practitioners. Containing information, explanations and practical advice that will enable you to cope with angry behaviour in the best way possible, as well as a range of helpful photocopiable resources, this book will prove invaluable to teachers as well as parents, carers, psychologists, social workers and health care workers.

Widely regarded as the definitive clinical reference and text in the field, this authoritative volume presents effective cognitive-behavioral approaches for treating frequently encountered child and adolescent disorders. The editor and contributors are leading experts who provide hands-on, how-to-do-it descriptions illustrated with clinical examples. Relevant theories and research findings are explained, and exemplary treatment manuals and client workbooks reviewed. Coverage encompasses evidence-based treatments for aggression, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, anxiety disorders, depression and suicidality, obsessive-compulsive disorder, eating disorders, and trauma. Ways to involve parents in treatment are addressed throughout.   New to This Edition *Presents advances in conceptualizing and treating specific clinical problems. *Up-to-date information on treatment manuals and outcome research. *Chapters on additional therapies: modular treatments, dialectical behavior therapy, and mindfulness-based interventions.

This highly practical book presents an evidence-based individual therapy approach for children and adolescents experiencing anger problems. Comprising 10 child sessions and three parent sessions, the treatment addresses anger management, problem solving, and social skills. Sessions are described in step-by-step detail, complete with helpful case examples and therapist scripts. The authors show how to flexibly implement a range of cognitive and behavioral strategies while maintaining treatment fidelity. Reproducibles include 38 worksheets and handouts, plus therapist checklists and parent forms, all in a convenient large-size format for easy photocopying.

A practical guide to understanding and treating children and adolescents prone to extreme levels of angry outbursts, Disruptive Mood: Irritability in Children and Adolescents is based on the very latest research and theory. Providing both a clinical and scientific perspective on irritabilityin children, this book is a timely look at recent developments in the field. Abnormal states of anger are a common reason for referral to child health services, and cause concern in clinics, schools, and families. Misdiagnosis and treatment can stem from a lack of understanding of the mechanisms involved in high levels of anger in children, and Disruptive Mood: Irritabilityin Children and Adolescents provides clear guidance on the development of abnormal states of anger, their consequences for later development, and how to assess and make differential diagnoses between them. A useful resource for clinical practice, this book is concise and accessible, and offers toolsfor evaluating treatments. Disruptive Mood: Irritability in Children and Adolescents is designed for practitioners involved in child and adolescent mental health and education and researchers who need an introduction to this complex field.

One of the hallmarks of cognitive behavior therapy is its diversity today. Since its inception, over twenty five years ago, this once revolutionary approach to psychotherapy has grown to encompass treatments across the full range of psychological disorders. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy brings together all of the key aspects of this field distilling decades of clinical wisdom into one authoritative volume. With a preface by Aaron T. Beck, founder of the cognitive approach, the Encyclopedia features entries by noted experts including Arthur Freeman, Windy Dryden, Marsha Linehan, Edna Foa, and Thomas Ollendick to name but a few, and reviews the latest empirical data on first-line therapies and combination approaches, to give readers both insights into clients problems and the most effective treatments available. Common disorders and conditions: anxiety, depression, OCD, phobias, sleep disturbance, eating disorders, grief, anger Essential components of treatment: the therapeutic relationship, case formulation, homework, relapse prevention Treatment methods: dialectical behavior therapy, REBT, paradoxical interventions, social skills training, stress inoculation, play therapy, CBT/medicine combinations Applications of CBT with specific populations: children, adolescents, couples, dually diagnosed clients, the elderly, veterans, refugees Emerging problems: Internet addiction, chronic pain, narcolepsy pathological gambling, jet lag All entries featurereference lists and are cross-indexed. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy capably fills practitioners and educators needs for an idea book, teaching text, or quick access to practical, workable interventions."

Widely regarded as a premier text and clinical resource, this book presents exemplary treatment approaches for a broad range of social, emotional, and behavioral problems in children and adolescents. Concise chapters from leading authorities describe the conceptual underpinnings of each therapy, how interventions are delivered on a session-by-session basis, and what the research shows about treatment effectiveness. Contributors discuss recommended manuals and other clinical and training resources and provide details on how to obtain them.

Get the most from your ability to work with clients suffering the effects of chronic anger The Handbook of Anger Management provides therapists and counselors with a comprehensive review of anger and aggression management techniques, presenting specific guidelines to a number of immediately useful methods. Clinical psychotherapist Ronald T. Potter-Efron, Director of the Anger Management Center At First Things First, LTD, in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, offers straightforward solutions to the complicated problem of anger, detailing core treatment options and intervention methods that meet the needs of individual clients, couples, families, and groups. This practical guidebook examines rage, aggression, hostility, resentment, hatred, anger avoidance, and chronic anger and includes fact-based case studies that illustrate effective theory and practice. The Handbook of Anger Management guides therapists through the process of assessing anger in their clients, determining the reasons for--and the consequences of--anger and aggression. The book examines individual and group modalities, using behavioral, cognitive, affective, and existential/spiritual treatment approaches to define anger and anger problems and how they relate to social learning, to examine the relationship between anger and aggression and between anger and domestic violence, and to address the concept of "healthy anger." The Handbook of Anger Management examines: four major intervention areas that can help lessen anger the pros and cons of group versus individual counseling treating angry children, adolescents, and families how patterns of resentment and hatred are developed self-forgiveness five damaging aspects of anger turned inward the neurological aspects of anger and much more! The Handbook of Anger Management is an essential guidebook for psychologists, social workers, anger management therapists, and domestic abuse counselors, and for academics working in mental health fields.

This collection of fun and adaptable activities, games, stories and handouts is a complete resource for supporting children coping with stress and difficult emotions. From engaging arts and crafts, to interactive stories and relaxing meditations, all the interventions and activities are thematically structured so that each chapter contains the means for building specific skills or overcoming behavioral issues. Each chapter contains suggested goals, positive affirmations and photocopiable handouts to enable a child to continue practising and learning new life skills outside of sessions with parents or professionals. The activities in this book are ideal for use with children aged 3-12 to help them rebalance and gain a strong grasp on their emotions.

The last several years have seen a significant increase in research on anger and its clinical treatment. As a result, anger management has become the topic of many self-help books, but there is currently no book that brings together for practitioners and scholars the diversity of therapiesused to treat anger in various populations.Treatments for Anger in Specific Populations provides information and instruction on empirically supported interventions for anger in various clinical contexts, including substance abuse, PTSD, the intellectually disabled, borderline personality disorder, children and adolescents, and others. Tenchapters focus on specific populations, while two additional chapters discuss gender and culturally sensitive considerations in anger treatment. An introductory chapter by the volume editor, Ephrem Fernandez, outlines the main therapeutic approaches to anger, summarizing the boundaries betweenadaptive and maladaptive anger and providing a rationale for tailoring anger treatments to specific populations. For each population-specific chapter, authors provide theoretical background and literature review, followed by findings on the efficacy of each treatment. Each treatment evaluated is also clearly described in terms of clinical procedure. Further, each chapter contains a clinical case vignette illustrating the application of particular treatments to particular clients. Where appropriate, discussions of emerging and as-yet untested therapies areincluded. Treatments for Anger in Specific Populations is a resource to be treasured by clinicians who work regularly with anger problems and anger disorders, and the volume's careful balance of research review with important information about treatment application will also render it useful toscientists interested in anger.

At a time when evidence is everything, the comprehensive Handbook of Evidence-Based Psychotherapies handbook provides a unique, up-to-date overview of the current evidence-base for psychological therapies and major psychological disorders. The editors take a pluralistic approach, covering cognitive and behavioural therapies as well as counselling and humanistic approaches. Internationally-renowned expert contributors guide readers through the latest research, taking a critical overview of each practice s strengths and weaknesses. A final chapter provides an overview for the future.

Growing numbers of young people some 10% to 20% of school-age populations have mental health problems requiring intervention, and current policy initiatives identify evidence-based therapies as the most effective and relevant forms of treatment. By reviewing evidence-based treatments (EBTs) across a wide spectrum of conditions, the Handbook of Evidence-Based Therapies for Children and Adolescents: Bridging Science and Practice closes the gaps between children s needs and services as well as those between research, training, and practice, Several EBT options, both proved and promising, are offered for each covered disorder and are bolstered by case examples, tables, and reference lists. Features include chapters on implementation issues such as diversity, family treatment, assessment strategies, and community settings, and step-by-step guidance for the researcher looking to gather empirical support for therapies. With comprehensive coverage provided by numerous leading experts in the field, this volume covers the broadest range of disorders over the widest pediatric-adolescent age range, including: Behavioral disorders, ADHD, aggression, bullying. Phobias, panic disorders, school refusal, and anxiety. Autism and pervasive developmental disorders. Depression, mood disorders, and suicidal behavior. Alcohol and drug abuse. Eating disorders and obesity. PTSD.

Grief and Trauma in Children provides easy-to-implement, ready-to-use therapy materials to help busy practitioners use grief and trauma interventions in real-world settings. All interventions in the book have been developed and researched with clinicians who faced challenging environments, including devastating natural disasters, and in communities where ongoing violence victimized children directly. Even in these stressful environments, clinicians found the interventions easy to implement, effective in helping children acquire coping skills, and effective in decreasing traumatic symptoms in order to proceed with grieving without impaired functioning. 　 Grief and Trauma in Childrenblends cognitive-behavioral therapy methods and narrative practices to present an integrated grief and trauma model that can be delivered individually, to a group of children, or to a family. The book uses the Draw, Discuss, Write, Witness (DDWW) method to help children explore narratives of resilience and build coping capacity, engage in restorative stories about what happened, and reconnect and reengage in meaningful ways that allow the child to enjoy life again and get back on-track developmentally. Grief and Trauma in Children also provides up-to-date research on childhood bereavement and trauma, a brief description of the theoretical framework of the Grief and Trauma Intervention (GTI) model, a description of session-by-session goals and activities, case examples with ways to address common challenges, and photocopiable tools for clinicians to easily implement the model, such as session agendas, fidelity checklists, handouts for parents, and activity sheets for children.

Adlerian Counseling and Psychotherapy,now in its fifth edition, remains a classic text for students and an essential resource for practitioner's of all levels of experience. Reviewers have consistently lauded the book in previous editions for its clarity, concise focus, and use of many practical applications. It explains and illustrates individual, group, and couples work with children, adolescents, and adults of all ages. It highlights Adler's and Dreikurs's unique contributions to child guidance, lifestyle assessment and early recollections, and why it has been rated the most multicultural appropriate theory among counseling approaches. The fifth edition presents a fresh organization and an even clearer structure.  A new emphasis is placed on the distinction between counseling and psychotherapy, as practiced from the Adlerian perspective.  Additional chapter activities and review questions are added throughout the text, and all previous material is updated and refreshed.

This edited book examines some of the current inquiry related to the study of emotions in educational contexts. There has been a notable increased interest in educational research on emotions. Emotion in Education represents some of the most exciting and current research on emotions and education, and has the potential to impact research in this area. This combination of variety, timeliness, potential for transformation of the field, and uniqueness make this a "must-have" resource for academics in the fields of education, educational psychology, emotion psychology, cultural psychology, sociology, and teacher education. The chapters have been written for scholars in the area, but authors also wrote with graduate students in mind. Therefore, the book is also be a great volume for graduate seminars.

Most children master emotion regulation skills during their early childhood, though, increasingly, many enter school with mild or serious deficits that may not be addressed effectively or early enough. Practitioner s Guide to Emotion Regulation in School-Aged Children presents in-depth background and practical information on the subject to enable school professionals to craft interventions that are developmentally appropriate, relevant, and timely. In this volume, variables that contribute to emotional regulation are identified, complex relationships between emotions, stress, and temperament are explored, and challenges to competence at school (e.g., test anxiety, bullying) and at home (e.g., punishment for 'wrong' emotions) are examined. Strategies for recognizing specific skill deficiencies or more general needs are provided, along with emotion coaching techniques, cognitive-behavioral methods, anger management programs, empathy training, and other interventions. Dozens of worksheets and handouts included in the book can be reproduced or fine-tuned to fit age and ability levels. Featured topics include: Emotion dysregulation as a risk factor for mental disorders, including anxiety, depressive disorders, and the autism spectrum. The biology of emotion regulation, and its potential in designing interventions. Strengthening parenting skills to reinforce children s emotional skills. Working with teachers to improve the emotional climate in the classroom. The peer group: translating self-regulation into social contexts. Step by step intervention processes. With targeted training at the classroom, home, and peer levels, children can better attain the vital skills they need for a lifetime of social interactions. This volume is an essential resource for school psychologists and other school-based mental health professionals."

This book is designed to give students and researchers the confidence to understand, assess, treat, and research test anxiety. Marty Sapp presents the various cognitive and behavioral theories of test anxiety along with instruments for measuring test anxiety. He integrates statistical methodology, measurement, and research designs with actual research situations that occur within the test anxiety field. In addition, the SPSS codes for conducting sample reliability and validity are provided along with the codes for finding confidence intervals around population reliability measures. Like the previous edition, the logic of structural equations modeling is presented with the EQS structural equations program. Many researchers view test anxiety as existing of factors such as Sarasons's four-factor model or Spielberger's two-factor model. Both models can be easily analyzed by EQS. In terms of treatment, affective, cognitive, behavioral, hypnosis, systematic desensitization, Eye-Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), and the Eye-Movement Technique (EMT) are presented. This book integrates applied research designs and statistical and measurement methodology that frequently occur in the test anxiety literature, but the methodological treatment of research is nonmathematical. Finally, extensive discussions of treatments for test anxiety are provided.

Designed for busy teachers and other school-based professionals, this book presents step-by-step guidelines for implementing seven highly effective strategies to improve classroom management and instructional delivery. These key low-intensity strategies are grounded in the principles of positive behavior intervention and support (PBIS), and are easy to integrate into routine teaching practice. Chapters discuss exactly how to use each strategy to decrease disruptive behavior and enhance student engagement and achievement. Checklists for success are provided, together with concise reviews of the evidence base and ways to measure outcomes. Illustrative case examples span the full K-12 grade range. Reproducible intervention tools can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. See also Managing Challenging Behaviors in Schools, by Kathleen Lynn Lane et al., which shows how these key strategies fit into a broader framework of prevention and intervention.

Student engagement in now part of the higher education lexicon in North America. This volume explains the value and relevance of the construct, with an emphasis on how results from the national Survey of Student Engagement have been used for various purposes. Because process indicators are often used as proxy measures for institutional quality, the chapter authors discuss how student engagement data can help colleges and universities satisfy the demand for more evidence, accountability, and transparency of student and institutional performance. Chapters discuss: The National Survey of Student Engagement: Conceptual and Empirical Foundations The Use of Engagement Data in Accreditation, Planning, and Assessment Analyzing and Interpreting NSSE Data The Role of Precollege Data in Assessing and Understanding Student Engagement in College Effectively Involving Faculty in the Assessment of Student Engagement Converting Engagement Results into Action Toward Relfective Accountability: Using NSSE for Accountability and Transparency NSSE, Organizational Intelligence, and the Institutional Researcher The widespread uses of student engagement results have helped to increase the visibility and importance of campus assessment efforts and of institutional researchers, who provide campus leaders with objective, trustworthy data about student and institutional performance.