Rutger Library has assembled an array on online databases that are available for use without subscription or institutional affiliation. They have also gone one step further and categorized them by subject area.
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Provides a directory to free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals published on the Internet in a variety of academic subjects. All journals included use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. DOAJ is hosted by the Lund University (Sweden) Libraries; funded by the Open Society Institute--Budapest (Hungary); and also supported by SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC contains more than 5 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present).
SSRN is a pre-print server for economics, business, law and humanities. Many universities and research centers publish their working papers at SSRN. Uploading and searching working papers is free; a number of fee-based sources is also available. Acquired by Elsevier in 2016.
Formerly Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and non-financial assistance programs administered by the Federal government.