Accounting

CCH AnswerConnect, from Wolters Kluwer CCH, formerly CCH Tax Research Network, is a comprehensive database of primary and secondary sources related to taxation in the U.S. Its primary sources include: current IRS Code, Federal Tax Regulations, Federal Tax Cases, IRS Administrative Rulings, Letter Rulings and Memorandum, etc. Its secondary sources include editorial matters prepared by Wolters Kluwer which explain the primary source content. In addition, CCH AnswerConnect also contains federal and state laws and regulations, case law, forms, manuals, and news reports concerning health care and human resources.
Users must click the blue "Subscribers: Log in here" button in the top right corner of the webpage to access the database.

Provides access to primary source materials for federal, state, and local tax laws, such as codes, regulations, current pending/enacted legislation, federal tax cases, IRS rulings, etc. Print equivalents include U.S. Tax Reporter, American Federal Tax Reports, Federal Tax Regulations, Federal Tax Coordinator 2d, State and Local Tax Reporters, and others. Includes Federal Accounting Standards Board (FASB) documents. Also includes explanations and analyses of tax laws and cases produced by RIA, such as Federal Tax Coordinator, Return Guides, Citator 2nd, Tax Alerts, Journal of Taxation, Journal of Corporate Taxation, RIA Tax Watch, Bittker & Eustice: Federal Income Taxation of Corporations & Shareholders etc. Only a few people can use this database at one time.

Extensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current. 

Contains current auditor listings for more than 20,000 public registrants; auditor fees for more than 12,000 public registrants; audit opinions and change listings; section 404 Internal Control disclosures classified according to 30 material weaknesses; restatements with details on the affected period and associated issues; and litigation data, including federal securities class action claims, all SEC actions, and all material federal civil litigation disclosed to the SEC.

You must request a WRDS user account using your UTSA email. WRDS account requests are usually processed within two business days.

WRDS now requires 2FA DUO authentication. Follow the prompts to set up your WRDS DUO.

Provides performance metrics derived from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. The Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB) provides industry norms including liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. The Industry Default Probability Data (IDP) uses cash flow measures to project the expected default frequency estimates (EDF) by industry. Data for 760+ industries based on NAICS codes may be examined on a national or regional level. Five year archive

Features cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 2,100 key publications in accounting, auditing, taxation, and financial management from U.S. and international publications, including publications produced by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB). Also included are citations to relevant articles from 8 regional newspapers. Some publications are indexed back to 1971. Full text and/or images are available for nearly 250 publications.

Business searcher-friendly interface. Provides full-text coverage for over 9,400 general and scholarly business journals and other sources in marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Includes full-text business books; case studies; investment research, industry, market research, and country reports; and SWOT analyses. Some coverage begins in 1886.

ProQuest Research Library: Including
- ABI/INFORM Collection (1971 - current) that covers scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news; and
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (1971 - current) that contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.

Provides access to books and journals in accounting and finance, economics, education, engineering, health care, HR and organizational behavior, LIS, management science, marketing, strategy, tourism and hospitality, and more.

Comprehensive business and financial data for U.S. and international public and private companies, active and inactive. Includes executive compensation data, bonds, Country Insight, Supply Chain, Investext analyst reports and screening tools.

Provides exclusive investment tools, up-to-date Morningstar financial data, research, and independent opinions on mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds. Ratings and risk information are updated daily.
Only a few people can use this database at one time.

Bureau van Dijk is a Moody's Analytics company. ORBIS contains financial information on listed and private companies from 220+ countries; bank and insurance reports; comprehensive ownership/subsidiary coverage; directors and contacts; market reports, M&A activity and more. Features the ability to screen based on 100+ criteria. Complementary access to the Pan-European dataset (AMADEUS), global company dataset (OSIRIS), and ORBIS dataset through WRDS under Bureau van Dijk data.

Contains financial data on major privately-held companies including private financials and revenues, private M&A deals, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, private and family ownership breakdowns, and more. Based on proprietary financial analysis and data technology, editorial quality review, and market research.

Click on the "Direct Access" button to access the PrivCo dashboard.

Provides analyst reports; securities research; economic company, product and industry research reports from J.P. Morgan Chase & Company. U.S and global coverage. 2011-current.

Provides analysis and quotes for equities and indices; current company, industry, and market news; and economic data for countries around the world.

UTSA faculty, students, and staff can search Bloomberg from one of sixteen workstations. One workstation is located in the 2nd floor Business Information Hub in the John Peace Library building. Fifteen workstations are located in the Financial Studies Lab in the Alvarez College of Business.

Both UTSA Libraries and Alvarez College of Business don’t have access to Bloomberg Anywhere - equivalent to the Bloomberg Terminal via the web.

Bloomberg Terminal’s Log-in Requirement:
• Bloomberg is only available on designated workstations at UTSA.
• First-time users: in order to obtain your Bloomberg login credentials, please log into a Bloomberg workstation with your UTSA abc123 and register with the Bloomberg system using your UTSA email.

Data on U.S. and international public and private companies, M&A deals, executives and boards worldwide; news, investment research, and more. Includes powerful screening tools, chart builders, and Office Plug-In modeling tool. By S&P Global. Please note that UTSA does not subscribe to Capital IQ PRO.

Access to Capital IQ is for current faculty, staff, and students only and requires approval by Capital IQ. To request a new Capital IQ account:
1. Click on the Capital IQ database link above; login with abc123 and passphrase; complete DUO authentication.
2. Click on New User in the top right header and enter your utsa.edu email.
3. Check your email box for confirmation and finish the sign-up. Your login credentials will be provided via email from Capital IQ.

Once your Capital IQ account is created, for future access you will need to use the proxied link to Capital IQ above on the library database page, and then your personal Capital IQ credentials to log in.

To download Office Plug-in, go to My Capital IQ tab > My Profile > Downloads. See research guide for more information. You may also complete Capital IQ training at S&P Market Intelligence Academic Resource Center.

Contains up to a 20-year history of fundamental financial, statistical, and market data for corporations, banks, S&Ls, ADRs/ADSs, business segments, geographic areas, industry composites and indexes in 'North America' as well as 'Global.' Extensive coverage of annual and quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Cash Flow, and supplemental data items is provided on over 19,000 active and inactive publicly traded companies. Includes currency files with cross-translation tables for more than 100 currencies. Particularly useful for advanced quantitative analysis, including database queries, or for access to company/industry financial statements and data. Updated quarterly.

You must request a WRDS user account using your UTSA email. WRDS account requests are usually processed within two business days.

WRDS now requires 2FA DUO authentication. Follow the prompts to set up your WRDS DUO.