Bankruptcy Resources

Extensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current. 

Business searcher-friendly interface. Provides full-text coverage for over 9,400 general and scholarly business journals and other sources in marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Includes full-text business books; case studies; investment research, industry, market research, and country reports; and SWOT analyses. Some coverage begins in 1886.

Replaced MarketLine. A powerful platform to explore, analyze, and compare companies, industries, and countries. Over 900,000 public and private companies worldwide across 22 sectors and 120+ subsectors from 200+ countries. Reports include case studies, profiles for companies and industries, SWOT and Five Forces analyses, analyst opinions, value and supply chain reports, macroeconomic data, and more. Additional databases include market analyzers, company filings analytics, social media analytics, deals, city profiles and city economics, global ads from leading brands, product innovation, job analytics, and news. Tools, such as the company screening tool, competitive intelligence tool, analytics hub, and others, enable deeper insights.

Data on U.S. and international public and private companies, M&A deals, executives and boards worldwide; news, investment research, and more. Includes powerful screening tools, chart builders, and Office Plug-In modeling tool. By S&P Global. Please note that UTSA does not subscribe to Capital IQ PRO.

Access to Capital IQ is for current faculty, staff, and students only and requires approval by Capital IQ. To request a new Capital IQ account:
1. Click on the Capital IQ database link above; login with abc123 and passphrase; complete DUO authentication.
2. Click on New User in the top right header and enter your utsa.edu email.
3. Check your email box for confirmation and finish the sign-up. Your login credentials will be provided via email from Capital IQ.

Once your Capital IQ account is created, for future access you will need to use the proxied link to Capital IQ above on the library database page, and then your personal Capital IQ credentials to log in.

To download Office Plug-in, go to My Capital IQ tab > My Profile > Downloads. See research guide for more information. You may also complete Capital IQ training at S&P Market Intelligence Academic Resource Center.

Click the "Menu" at the top >> Select "All Sources" >> type "Bankruptcy" in the box >> get the search results >> Use desired filters under the "Narrow By" box at the left side of the result page >> Also enter search terms in the box "Search Within Results" to narrow down .

Select the "Screening" tab >> click on the "Companies" >> choose the "Bankruptcy details" box (the last box on the screen)
Select the "Screening" tab >> click on the "Companies" >> choose the "Corporate Actions" box >> click "Bankruptcies" >> set your desired "Time Frame" >> Click "add criteria" and view results
Select the "Screening" tab > Transactions > box "M&A Details" > Select Features > Bankruptcy Sale > Add Criteria > click "View Result" button.

Bankruptcy filings may be found through Bloomberg. Type BNKF and then select the GO key.

AuditAnalytics module in WRDS includes "Bankruptcy Notification"

Provides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.