- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Secondary Education
This guide was created to assist the professors and students focusing on secondary education within the Department of Interdisciplinary Learning & Teaching.
- Getting Started
- Web Resources
- Lesson Plans
- Data Resources
- APA Citation Help
Condition of Education
Every year the NCES publishes a report on the Condition of Education in the United States.
UTSA Data Resources Databases
UTSA Libraries subscribes to a numbers of statistsical databses that might be useful to you.
Reputable Data Resources
- American Institutes for Research (AIR)AIR has an Education Program that "connect[s] rigorous research, policy, and practice to support and improve education."
- Census School EnrollmentContains enrollment figures for K - 16 across the United States.
- Center for Education Data & Research (CEDR)"CEDR’s mission is to conduct high quality independent research that advances the state of knowledge in education and aids policymakers in decision-making so as to improve educational outcomes for all students."
- ED Data ExpressED Data Express is "designed to improve the public's ability to access and explore high-value state-level education data collected by the U.S. Department of Education." It is about both elementary and secondary schools in the U.S.
- Education Trust - Data Tools"Ed Trust has developed a number of tools to help students, parents, educators, policymakers, and advocates more easily find and use key education data."
- Measure of AmericaUsers can find state-level educational attainment data with the interactive map from the American Human development project website.
- National Center for Analysis of Longitudinal Data in Education Research (CALDER)The Center focuses on how K-12 teacher policies, governance policies, and social and economic community conditions affect outcomes for teachers and their students. More recently, the Center has extended its work to post-secondary education and labor market outcomes.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Tables and FiguresIf you know the name of the table that you need from NCES, this search box is a shortcut.
- NCES Bibliography Search ToolThe Bibliography Search Tool allows you to search for individual citations from journal articles that have been published using data from 18 research programs conducted by NCES (click on the icons below for more information on each program). The bibliography is updated continually. The list of citations was derived from computer searches of online bibliographic databases (i.e., EBSCO, JSTOR, EconLit, Dissertation Abstracts), ERIC, as well as the NCES website.
- NCES Data ToolsThe NCES has datasets concerning K-12 public and private schools, as well as higher education, too.
- Pew Research Center - Education"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. [They] conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. "
- Texas Education Research Center (Texas ERC)"The Texas Education Research Center (Texas ERC) is a research center and data clearinghouse providing access to longitudinal, student-level data for scientific inquiry and policy-making purposes."
- Texas Public Schools ExplorerThe Texas public schools database can help you "learn more about the state’s 1,219 districts and 8,646 public schools, including hundreds of charter schools and alternative campuses. You can easily navigate through information on demographics, academic performance, college readiness and average teacher salaries for each school or district."
- Urban Education in AmericaThis site is designed for persons who are interested in educational changes taking place in urban America. This site provides access to recent data collected by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), as well as the Census Bureau.