Secondary Education

ATE is a "center for school districts, community colleges, the private sector and UTSA to collaboratively research, design, implement and evaluate educational programs that address emerging, statewide and local educational issues associated with a growing diverse student population."

"UTSA’s Reading Place offers assistance in reading and writing to San Antonio area children. In addition, the UTSA Reading Place provides training for university students through teaching experiences and conducts research on problems in literacy learning."

"UTSA’s Teacher Education: Autism Model (TEAM) Center functions as a “teaching hospital” for training teachers to use scientifically validated procedures for teaching students with Autism Spectrum Disorders and other intellectual disabilities."

"This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing."

A database of speeches and videos available for students to analyze.

"Explore the Census in Schools Web site to learn about the importance of census data and how it can help you learn about your world."

Earth Force engages young people as active citizens who improve the environment and their communities now and in the future.

This is a free online version of our database ERIC. "ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included."

Generation Citizen (GC) works to ensure that every student in the United States receives an effective action civics education, which provides them with the knowledge and skills necessary to participate in our democracy as active citizens.

Founded by Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, "iCivics teaches students how government works by having them experience it directly. Through our games, the player steps into any role – a judge, a member of Congress, a community activist fighting for local change, even the President of the United States – and does the job they do. Educational video games allow for concepts to happen to us. They convey information while teaching skills for effective civic engagement."

This blog is maintained by the New York Times and contains a wealth of secondary materials, from lesson plans to SOAP activities.

"The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."

Individualized vocabulary-building programs for 6th - 12th grades.

This website is sponsored by the United States' NASA program. Lesson plans and ideas for K-12 students regarding science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, are freely available here.

Lots of resources to help you teach a variety of history.

This National Geographic website offers a variety of geography-based web resources for K-12 students.

The News Literacy Project is a national education nonprofit offering nonpartisan, independent programs that teach students how to know what to believe in the digital age.

Free studying and learning tools for all grade levels.

This particular link goes to 7-8th grade, but there are a wealth of free resources for K-12 on this site. Scroll to the bottom left corner to view the resources available.

Read Write Think partners with the NCTE and has "hundreds of standards-based lesson plans written and reviewed by educators using current research and the best instructional practices."

Rick Steves is an American travel writer, author, activist and television personality. He has compiled a list of videos from his travels to bring the history right to your classroom!

Teaching Channel is a video showcase—on the Internet and TV—of inspiring and effective teaching practices in America's schools.

"Founded in 1991 by the Southern Poverty Law Center, Teaching Tolerance is dedicated to reducing prejudice, improving intergroup relations and supporting equitable school experiences for our nation's children."

"The Texas Education Agency is the state agency that oversees primary and secondary public education in the state of Texas."

"ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."

"The Museum has many resources for teachers striving to help students learn the history of the Holocaust and reflect upon the moral and ethical questions raised by that history."