- Find Information
- Research Guides
This guide was created to assist the professors and students focusing on kinesiology within the Department of Kinesiology, Health, and Nutrition.
The UTSA Libraries have many electronic and print books supporting the undergraduate and graduate KIN courses.
- The Active Female by Reid Norman ; Mimi Zumwalt ; Jacalyn J. McCombThis book investigates the growing and ever-changing health issues for girls and women who lead an active lifestyle and participate in sports and exercise. Easy to read, the volume provides an educational foundation for understanding how disordered eating, amenorrhea, and osteoporosis can be interrelated while also looking at image disorders and reproductive health. It contains thorough analysis of common prevention and management techniques, and provides useful links to resources on the internet for additional screening tools.
- Biomechanics in Sport by Vladimir ZatsiorskyBiomechanics in Sport is a unique reference text prepared by the leading world experts in sport biomechanics. Over thirty chapters cover a broad spectrum of topics, ranging from muscle mechanics to injury prevention, and from aerial movement to wheelchair sport. The biomechanics of sports including running, skating, skiing, swimming, jumping in athletics, figure skating, ski jumping, diving, javelin and hammer throwing, shot putting, and striking movements are all explained.
- Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy by Lynn LippertEmphasises on clinical insights and functional connections. This edition is suitable for the clinical kinesiology course to help students analyze the mobility of specific joints in various activities of daily living. The chapters describe the various body systems, terminology, and biomechanical principles.
- Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit by Carl Heneghan; Douglas BadenochISBN: 9780727918413This bestselling pocket guide to the skills of evidence-based medicine succeeds in demystifying the terminology and processes in a handy and easy-to-follow format, all within the space of 100 pages. With an improved layout, this second edition of Evidence-based Medicine Toolkit offers more up-to-date guidance as well as new sections on important areas of research. New features of this second edition include: A box for each major database showing how to search the evidence, and highlighting the differences between them Flow charts for different study types New critical appraisal sections on qualitative research and economic evaluation Expanded list of EBM resources on the net. With these added features to make the job easier, the new Toolkit is now an even better companion for all health care professionals using evidence-based methodology in their research and practice.
- Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise by Clare MilnerFunctional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise is a quick reference guide to human musculoskeletal anatomy in its moving, active context. An accessible format makes it easy for students to locate clear, concise explanations and descriptions of anatomical structures, human movement terms and key concepts. Covering all major anatomical areas, the book includes: an A-to-Z guide to anatomical terms and concepts. clear and detailed anatomical illustrations cross-referenced entries throughout highlighted key terms 'hot topics' discussed in more detail full references and a list of suggested further reading. Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise is a must-have supplement for undergraduates in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and related areas. Clare Milner is Assistant Professor in Biomechanics at the University of Tennessee, USA
- Orthopaedics and Fractures by T. Duckworth; C. M. BlundellProviding a concise approach to the subject, the new edition of Lecture Notes: Orthopaedics and Fractures reflects recent changes to medical education and includes new management techniques. Divided into two major sections, 'General Principles' covers form and function, fractures, trauma and musculo-skeletal disorders; while 'Regional Orthopaedics' covers the examination of and conditions affecting individual regions of the body i.e. foot and ankle, spine and trunk. This ensures the content is integrated to allow better and easier navigation. Featuring an extensive collection of X-rays and photographs of orthopaedic conditions, Lecture Notes: Orthopaedics and Fractures is ideal for any medical students, junior doctors, nurses or allied health professionals who want a core introduction to this important specialty. Review of the previous edition "It provides excellent grounding and preparation for the attachment." 5th Year Medical Student
- Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training by Julie N. BernierSearching for one quick reference for all of your athletic training needs? Looking for quick answers to questions that can be encountered daily in the profession? Need quick access to thousands of terms related to the field? The expanded and updated second edition of Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training contains all this and more! Pocket size, comprehensive, and user-friendly, this companion guide is essential for students and professionals in athletic training. Dr. Julie N. Bernier has taken over 2,100 terms and made them accessible in one book-no longer will you need to search multiple textbooks. Also included are 20 appendices on revised and new topics such as manual muscle testing and joint mobility positioning. Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training, Second Edition, with both text and visual references, provides the athletic training student and professional with a quick overview of the essential elements of injury assessment in the field Appendices include: The appendix on manual muscle testing includes photos and descriptions of manual muscle testing positioning and examiner stabilization, which will aid in the proper execution of the test. The appendix on special tests provides illustrations and descriptions of orthopedic special tests such as shoulder, elbow, spine, knee, and foot/ankle. Two appendices on peripheral nerve innervations-upper and lower extremity-include anatomical images that will assist the reader in visualizing the three dimensionality and location of peripheral nerve innervations. Plus 17 additional appendices on pertinent athletic training topics! Some of the additional appendices: Medical Roots Terminology Acronyms and Abbreviations Pharmacology Muscles-Origins, Insertion, Action
- Sports Injuries by Christer RolfThis is a practical handbook on diagnosis and management of common sports injuries. Written for GPs, physiotherapists and sports therapists to tailor diagnosis and suggested therapy, as well as for coaches and athletes, and for keen amateur sports people who want to know what to do if they injure themselves. It is a clear and easy to follow design with one injury explored per page. It includes the most common lower and upper extremity injuries occurring in team sports such as football/rugby/cricket, and some non-team sports injuries (tennis, running, swimming, skiing). Many people with a sports injury end up giving up exercising or cause further damage because their injury isn't treated properly - either treated as 'non-urgent' because it was caused by sporting activity, or treatment is delayed because of long waiting times, or GPs/physios are unsure of the diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries. GPs usually immediately refer sports injuries to consultants, with a long waiting list for consultation/scan. This means patients suffer for longer, give up exercising and often cause more damage by not following an exercise programme in the meantime.; This book will offer diagnosis and how to treat/investigate and refer. Training advice during convalescence will also be given.
- Sports Medicine by David Drez ; Bernard Bach ; Charles NofsingerCambridge Pocket Clinician Sports Medicine covers a wide variety of topics examining sports-related injuries, as well as clinical questions on history, conditions, symptoms, and treatment that will challenge providers. The topics are organized under headings on physical examination, differential diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis so that the user will find the desired information quickly and easily. More than 200 conditions are discussed in detail.
- Endurance Sports Medicine by Timothy L. Miller (Editor)Providing comprehensive discussion of this newly developing branch of sports medicine, this unique and up-to-date book focuses specifically on the treatment of athletes who train for and participate in endurance sporting events, including not only traditional endurance athletes such as runners, swimmers, bikers and triathletes, but also rowers, adventure racers, military personnel, and cross-fit athletes. Detailing strategies for not only treating and preventing injuries and conditions but also for optimizing an athlete's performance, it is divided into three thematic sections. The first section covers common medical conditions faced by the endurance athlete, including cardiovascular conditions, asthma, and heat- and altitude-related illnesses, while also discussing gender differences, pregnancy and the pediatric endurance athlete. Section two focuses on the management of common musculoskeletal conditions, such as stress fractures, overuse injuries of the soft tissue, compartment syndrome, shoulder and hip injuries, and exercise and osteoarthritis. The last section presents special considerations for the endurance athlete, including gait and swim-stroke analysis, bike fitting, mental preparation, optimizing nutrition, and how to organize medical coverage for events, as well as decision-making for return to play. A timely topic and one which has not been written about extensively in one concise collection of chapters, Endurance Sports Medicine is a valuable guide for sports medicine physicians, orthopedists, athletic trainers, physical therapists, coaches, officials, and athletes in understanding the needs of the determined individuals who participate in endurance sports.
- Therapeutic Exercise by Carolyn KisnerKisner & Colby offers the most up-to-date exercise guidelines for individualizing interventions for those with movement disorders.