American Indian History

Selectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.

Full-text online access to current and archived peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) as well as other AAA journals, newsletters, and bulletins. An email alert service is available.

Selectively indexes articles in anthropology and archaeology. Specifically, this includes social and cultural anthropology, archaeology, physical anthropology and related subjects, with an emphasis on Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology. Coverage: 18th century to the present.

Indexes and abstracts journals, books, and U.S. and Canadian government documents on diverse aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Formerly Bibliography of Native North American Indians.

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) is a full-text collection of primary and secondary materials and ethnographies on nearly 400 different ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide. It is useful for finding information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. HRAF includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, dissertations, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts. Search by keyword, geographic (OWC) codes, or topical (OCM) classification scheme.

Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily

Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.

Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.

Search periodicals in the humanities and social sciences including disciplines such as anthropology, area studies, economics, education, history, linguistics and philology, literature, music and the performing arts, and sociology, among others. Covers publications from the 15th century to the present. Includes full-text articles in languages other than English, with significant offerings in Spanish, French, and German.

Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.

Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.

Provides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs to doctoral dissertations and master's theses authored by students at UTSA. Abstracts and full-image PDFs are available for most titles. Coverage is from 1996 to the present.

Indexes and abstracts over 30,000 scholarly publications from 200 academic and professional publishers. Some links to full text are provided; however, most full-text articles are fee-based and paid for by the patron. Patrons are encouraged to contact the UTSA Library Reference staff for local holdings or to use Get It For Me to borrow materials from other libraries.