- Find Information
- Research Guides
- History of Medicine and Public Health
History of Medicine and Public Health
A guide to recommended books, historical journals, digital collections and statistics about the history of medicine and public health.
- Getting Started
- Historical Journals
- Digital Collections
- Archival Collections
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Statistics and Microfilm
- Images and Video
Image credit: Handy, Edwin, illustrator for Lambert Pharmacal Company, O careful mother... before baby's meals, rid your hands of germs, 1930. Magazine advertisement for Listerine mouthwash. Medicine and Madison Avenue, Duke University Libraries Digital Collections.
Online Digital Collections
- AIDS History Project - UCSFA collection of AIDS-related materials from UCSF and San Francisco area community organizations.
- Archives of the History of American PsychologyThe largest repository of manuscripts, monographs, media, and artifacts relevant to the history of psychology and related human sciences. The collections document the history of psychology in all of its forms, tracing it from the laboratory rooms of the late nineteenth century to hospitals, schools, and businesses throughout the twentieth century.
- Crile JournalsDuring World War I, Dr. Crile organized a unit of doctors and nurses from Lakeside Hospital to assist the Allies in treating and caring for the war wounded. The Lakeside Unit spent the first three months of 1915 at the American Ambulance in Paris. During this period, Dr. Crile kept a personal account of his experience.
- Global Health ChroniclesCollection of materials on public health efforts to prevent, control and eradicate global disease. Oral histories, photographs, and documents pertaining to smallpox, malaria, and guinea worm.
- History of Medicine & Medical HumanitiesResearch portal with links to a variety of resources, including an extensive list of digital exhibits on the history of medicine and medical humanities from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada.
- Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library Digital CollectionsDigital collection includes Texas medical history documents and digitized books.
- IUPUI - Indiana Public Health Historic Collections19th-20th century photographs, advertisements and illustrations pertaining to the health and well-being of Indiana residents.
- M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Making Cancer History Oral History ProjectPersonal interviews with the men and women of M.D. Anderson who dedicated their work to eliminating cancer provide unique insights into a host of important social, medical, political, and scientific developments related to cancer. The goal of the project is to tell the story of the many facets of the birth of oncology as a medical discipline.
- Medicine and Madison Avenue - Duke University Libraries Digital CollectionsPresents images and historical material for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from the 1910s through the 1950s. Includes a wide range of products such as cough and cold remedies, laxatives and indigestion aids, and vitamins and tonics, among others. In addition to the advertisements themselves, the MMA website includes historical material that puts health-related advertising into a broader perspective.
- Online Exhibitions at the National Library of MedicineBrowse digitized American medical books from 1610-1920, historical anatomical atlases, digitized books on the cholera pandemics of the 1800s, an exhibition on Native Peoples’ concepts of health and illness, and more.
- Proceedings of the American Medical Association (1847-2011)A number of AMA publications are archived at this site.
- State Library of North Carolina NCPedia: Health & Epidemics Historic CollectionsResources for the Eugenics Movement, the Influenza Outbreak of 1918-1919, and outbreaks of Malaria and Yellow Fever.
- Truman G. Blocker, Jr. History of Medicine CollectionsThese items have been digitized by the University of Texas-Medical Branch. They highlight medical treatments in Texas and beyond.
- UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library AIDS Poster CollectionThe AIDS Poster Collection consists of more than 1,000 posters from 44 countries. The posters were issued by a variety of institutions and organizations to educate and warn people about AIDS and to offer advice and information in visual form.
- UCLA Patent Medicine Trading Card CollectionA digital collection of trade cards for various medicinal treatments including “Carter’s Little Nerve Pills,” “Dally’s Magical Pain Extractor,” and more.
- UT San Antonio Health Science Center Digital CollectionsThe Health Science Center Digital Archive consist of four primary Collections: History of Medicine, University History, Electronic These & Dissertations, and University Records.
- Wellcome Library Mental Healthcare CollectionArchival material relating to psychiatric institutions, mental health organisations and individuals in the UK. The material dates from the 18th to the 20th centuries.
- Yale University Cushing/Whitney Medical Digital LibraryView digitized collections and online exhibitions including tobacco advertising, pathology teaching collection of drawings, historical medical posters, medical instruments images, digitized books, and more.
UTSA Libraries Digital Collections
- UTSA Libraries Digital CollectionsDigitized materials from UTSA Special Collections and the Institute of Texan Cultures.
- Texas Biomedical Research Institute PublicationsTexas Biomedical Research Institute (Texas Biomed) began in 1941 as the Foundation of Applied Research founded by noted San Antonio businessman and philanthropist Tom Slick. The Institute's original mission was to provide broad research and study in agriculture, natural sciences, and medicine. It currently focuses on specialized biomedical research on infectious diseases, genetics, cancer research, cardiovascular disease, and neonatal diseases.This collection includes digitized Texas Biomed publications from 1953 to the present. Publications include Progress in Biomedical Research (1954- ), Annual Report (1953- ), and Scientific Report (2009- ) and are arranged chronologically by publication. Additionally, A Stereotaxic Atlas of the Brain of the Baboon (Papio) and an anniversary publication entitled The First Half Century and are included.
- Oral History CollectionA collection of more than 1000 oral histories from the holdings of UTSA Libraries Special Collections. The bulk of the interviews in this collection are part of the Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection. The Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection contains 939 interviews conducted since 1967 and document a broad range of activities related to life in Texas.
- General Photograph CollectionPrior to the opening of HemisFair '68, Institute of Texan Cultures staff collected more than 40,000 images from across the state depicting the different cultural groups of Texas, represented in this collection.
- San Antonio Light Photograph CollectionThis collection showcases original glass and film negatives made by the newspaper's staff photographers. The photographs depict people and events in San Antonio from 1924 to 1993. Also included are views of small towns in South and Central Texas. Images may be viewed in person at Special Collections by appointment.
Portal to Texas History
- Portal to Texas HistoryThe Portal provides access to digitized materials from repositories across Texas, including books, newspapers, maps, photographs, and archival collections. Newspapers, in particular, can provide a window into popular health concerns and perspectives from a particular time period.