- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Human Rights
Human Rights
A guide to library and online sources for research on human rights.
Key Databases
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from and about the U.S. Congress, from 1789-present. Includes congressional publications; bill tracking and full text of bills; legislative history; federal regulations; and member affiliations, demographic, financial, and voting records. Use Advanced Search to search full text of documents or to search within a particular collection.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCollection of primary documents relating to U.S. foreign and military policy initiatives since 1945, culled from holdings of the National Security Archive obtained through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Features more than 43,000 declassified documents.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowLaw reviews and journals are an excellent start to exploring a legal topic. Nexis Uni LexisNexis contains the full text of 450 law school reviews and law journals. Use Law Reviews search box or filter for Law Reviews after search.
Segment searching in the Summary field of Advanced Search helps narrow your search. - Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of the discipline of law and legal topics in law journals, scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. 1887-current
Key Resources
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports & TestimoniesAn independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog." GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
- Country Reports on Human Rights (U.S. Dept. of State)Reports submitted annually to the U.S. Congress by the U.S. Department of State. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
- UNICEF - United Nations International Children's FundUnder "What We Do" go to "Child Protection" to find information on a variety of topics concerning children.
- CIA Electronic Reading RoomCIA files made public through Freedom of Information Requests. This link takes you to "Historical Collections" to find declassified records of historical value on many topics. In addition, you may wish to explore the "Collections Archive," also linked on this page.
- Human Trafficking Law Project (HTLP)Launched in February 2011 by the Human Trafficking Clinic at the University of Michigan Law School, HTLP is the first publicly available database of human trafficking cases within the United States.
