Human Rights

A guide to library and online sources for research on human rights.

Searches That Work

The best place to start looking for primary sources is in the footnotes, endnotes, or bibliography of a good secondary source!

Find primary source materials by searching Library Quick Search. Search using some of the keywords that describe your subject in combination with one or more of the following terms:

personal narratives
letters
correspondence
diaries
memoirs
manuscripts
travelers
archives
records
documents
sources
papers of...
indexes
bibliography
catalogs
guides

Selected Online Sources

United Nations: Human Rights Documentation

Statistics

Stat-USA This link opens in a new window
The STAT-USA website and services ceased as of October 1, 2010. A list of free government sources for most of the data formerly on this site are provided on the U.S. Government Research Guide.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Statistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of U.S. social, political and economic data from Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. All tables are available for download in PDF and Excel formats. Check original sources of data to explore more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each topic section. Updated annually.
Earlier editions (1970-current) accessible using drop down menu. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip Sheet.
Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Cambridge) This link opens in a new window
Historical statistics for the U.S. from colonial times through the 20th century, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, as well as governance and international relations. Introductory essays for each topic provide context and highlight key tables.

Selected Print Primary Resources

U.K. Parliamentary Archives
Provides links to available digitized British government documents as well as information and primary sources on a variety of historical topics.

Primary Source Materials from the Center for Research Libraries - CRL

Unique collections of hard to find materials. The UTSA Libraries will borrow materials on microfilm or microfiche from CRL for you.

Topic Guide on Human Rights
Look at the tab for CRL Collections as well as Related Resources tab for some useful links.
Late 20th Century Human Rights Documentation
This guide lists collections of documentation concerning human rights for Africa, Latin America and South and Southeast Asia.
Human Rights Before, During, and After WWII
This guide lists human rights documentation including transcripts of the Nazi war crimes trials, conditions and politics in occupied Western Europe, and Tokyo war crimes trials.