- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Civil Rights in Texas
Civil Rights in Texas
This guide provides resources for the study of the history of civil rights in Texas.
- Getting Started
- Regional Texas Histories
- EducationToggle Dropdown
- Organizations & Leaders
by Shari Salisbury Last Updated Mar 9, 2023 499 views this year
Newspapers & News Articles
by Rita Wilson Last Updated Mar 13, 2023 328 views this year
Newspapers can be an excellent source for historical research. Resources listed below are for historical news sources, not current news. For a more complete list of historical news sources outside of Texas see the Historical Newspapers Research Guide.
For current news sources see the Newspapers and News Articles Research Guide.
- Texas Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window131 Texas news sources containing staff-authored articles but not including paid obituaries, advertising, and some free-lance material.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1800-1899. Provides full-text access to nearly 500 newspapers from urban to rural regions, large cities to small towns across the U.S.
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1885-1977. A historical archive with 1.2 million pages from the Dallas Morning News, one of the state's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record for major news and key events and personalities in Texas history.
- Portal to Texas History: NewspapersA digital gateway to historical materials from private collectors and collaborative partners, including libraries, museums, archives, and other historical groups.
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program - List of Newspapers on the PortalNewspapers are listed alphabetically with dates of coverage. The Texas Digital Newspaper Program is a partnership intended to create a digitized newspaper resource that covers a broad geographical area.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view more than a million digitized newspaper pages. Coverage is from 1836-1922. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Quarterly of the Texas State Historical Association (1897-1912)Texas State Historical Association's original scholarly publication about the history of Texas and the Southwest.
- Southwestern Historical QuarterlyThe Southwestern Historical Quarterly, continuously published since 1897, is the premier source of scholarly information about the history of Texas and the Southwest. The first 100 volumes of the Quarterly, more than 57,000 pages, are now available with searchable Tables of Contents.
African American Periodicals
- Black Newspapers in Texas, 1868-1970 by Charles GroseCall Number: PN4888 .N3 G87 1972ITC Library, Restricted Use
The San Antonio Register
The San Antonio Register is an important, long-running African American newspaper published in San Antonio, Texas.
- San Antonio RegisterLocally focused, Black-oriented weekly newspaper.
Paper: Current in Special Collections (John Peace Library)
Microfilm: AN 2 .S3 R43 (1931-2002) (John Peace Library)
Legacy Index: San Antonio Register Index (May 29, 1931 - 1959)
Portal to Texas History (1931-2000)
- The Original San Antonio Register, 1931-1978: Historical Study of a South Texas Black Newspaper Institution by Fred Mitchell FowlerCall Number: LD5318 .A882 F684JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Folio Stacks
Also available in JPL 4th Floor Microfiche Cabinet
Mexican American Newspapers
- Chicano Times (San Antonio, Tex.)Call Number: F395 .M5 C445Publication Date: 1970-1977JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet (1975:Jan.3 - 1977: Dec.30)
JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Flat Shelving (v.5:no.46 (1974:June/July) - v.5:no.47 (1974:July), v.6:no.63 (1975:Feb./Mar.))
- The Hispanic News (San Antonio, Tex.)Call Number: AP2 .H47Publication Date: [1981?]-[1984?]JPL 4th Floor Microfiche Cabinet (May (1981)-July (1981))
JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Flat Shelving (v.1:no.4 (1981) - v.1:no.5 (1981), v.1:no.8 (1981) - v.1:no.11 (1981), v.2:no.1 (1982) - v.4:no.5 (1984))
- El PuebloCall Number: F395.M5 P84UTSA Libraries Digital Collections
Also available in JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Flat Shelving
Special Collections holds v.1:no.1 (1979:Mar.) - v.2:no.10 (1982:mayo/jun.).
Independent, community-based newspaper published by a team of volunteers and distributed in the economically poor sectors of San Antonio, Texas. The newspaper's mission was to publish news and analysis relevant to working families.
- El Campesino: La Voz del CampesinoCall Number: E184 .M5 C3565JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Flat Shelving
Special Collections holds t.1:no.20 (1973) - t.1:no.25 (1973); t.2:no.1 (1973) - t.2:no.15 (1974); t.2:no.17 (1974).
- La Paloma: Organo de Difusión del Programa Para las Comunidades Mexicanas en el Extranjero (San Antonio, Tex.)Call Number: E184 .M5 P35Publication Date: 1990-?JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Flat Shelving
no.5 (1991: Jun.-Ago.) - no.8 (1992:Abr.-Mayo),
no.17 (1994:Ene.-Feb.) - no.18 (1994:Mar.-Abr.),
- La Prensa - San AntonioSan Antonio bilingual newspaper
Ceased publication June 2018
Microfilm: AN2 .S3 P74 (1913-2002) (JPL 4th Floor Current Periodicals)
Archival copies: Special Collections
Full-Text Electronic Access (1991-June 2018): Ethnic NewsWatch
Portal to Texas History (1913-1923) (open access)
- Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers (1887-1997) from counties at or near the Texas border. Includes titles published in Spanish and French as well as English. Freely available from University of North Texas Portal to Texas History.
- Chicano Serial Collection (Borderland Newspapers)Call Number: E184 .M5 C461
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet
sect.1 - sect.9,
sect.11 - sect. 15,