- Find Information
- Research Guides
- French Language, Literature & Culture
French Language, Literature & Culture
Your guide to print and online sources for French language learning, easy reading and culture.
Photo credit: Paris sign, clipart.com.
Dictionaries
- Collins French DictionaryOnline English/French, French/English dictionary. Includes French verb conjugation tables.
- WordReferenceEnglish/French, French/English dictionaries. Participate in online "forums" to ask questions or discuss meanings of words, phrases or idioms.
- Le Dictionnaire françaisDefinitions given in French.
- Dictionnaire des Synonymes et des Antonymes françaisSynonyms and antonyms given in French.
- e-Anglais.com - L'Anglais des affaires - Business English GlossaryOnline business terminology website. English/French, French/English.
- Dictionnaires d'autrefoisFrench dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries from the ARTFL Project. Simultaneously query Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue française (1606), Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue française (1787-1788), Émile Littré's Dictionnaire de la langue française (1872-1877) and the Dictionnaire de L'Académie française 1st (1694), 4th (1762), 5th (1798), 6th (1835), and 8th (1932-5) editions.
- Dictionnaire du Moyen Français (1330-1500)Dictionary of Middle French from Laboratoire Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française, CNRS and Nancy Université. In French.
Click a title to check its availability.
The Firefly Five Language Visual Dictionary by Call Number: P361 .C668 2004English, Spanish, French, German and Italian
Nouveau dictionnaire de la langue verte: le français argotique et familier au XXIe siècle by Call Number: PC3741 .M4747 2007French slang dictionary.
The Oxford French Business DictionaryCore business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accounting, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology. E-book
Grammar & Verbs
- Le ConjugueurFrench verb conjugation aid for all verb tenses and modes. Includes verb usage rules, definitions, and synonyms.
- Conjugaison françaiseFrench verb conjugation aid.
A Comprehensive French Grammar by Call Number: PC2112 .P75 2008- Le bon usage: grammaire française: Grevisse langue française byCall Number: PC2112 .G84 2008In French.
French Verb Tenses by Call Number: PC2271 .B65 2008- 501 French Verbs byCall Number: PC2271 .K378 2007
Messaging & Writing Letters
- French Texting AbbreviationsA short list of messaging abbreviations from Collins Dictionary Language Lovers blog..
- Le Français au Bureau - Business FrenchExamples of letters and administrative statements in MS Word format, written in French. From the Office québécois de la langue française, Canada.