Zotero

Instructions on how to download, install, and use Zotero, a free open source citation management program.

Creating with Microsoft Word

To add a citation, click Add/Edit Citation on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click Add/Edit Bibliography. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. .

 

example of adding citation and bibliography

 

The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and versions of Word. Mousing over the toolbar will pop up each button's function if they're not clearly labeled.

Note for those using an older version of Zotero:

 

Change bibliographic styles with Document Preferences

 

image of document preferences

Creating with Google Scholar

Zotero also works with Google Docs!

You must have the Zotero Connector installed in Chrome or Firefox (refer back to the Installing Zotero page of this guide for details)

Instead of a Word toolbar with buttons, look for the Zotero menu in your Google Docs editor:

 

example of Zotero in Google Docs

 

 

 

Adding citation image in Google Docs

 

 

Creating Quick Bibliographies

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Image of adding a quick bibliography

Adding Additional Styles

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style (Zotero 5.0):

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Download the style (right-click the Install link and choose Save As).
  4. Open Zotero preferences. Click Cite, then Styles, then the "+" button, and select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file).

The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.