Music

Comprehensive music reference resource and logical starting place for biographies, definitions, or information on classical music, opera, popular music, jazz, folk, and world music from many cultures and countries. Most articles offer bibliographies, and articles on composers provide detailed lists of works. Provides access to Grove Music Online, which includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Only a few people can use this database at one time.

Provides access to the 10-volume Garland Encyclopedia of Music, a comprehensive resource on music of the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a specific geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include photographs of musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies.

Contains the full text of over 230 dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, and arts.

Provides access to biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Includes comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.

Contains reference materials spanning the history of Western classical music, with comprehensive coverage of all classical genres. Includes definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists in Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, and Women Composers: Music Through the Ages, as well as biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, and critical texts. This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.

Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Also contains a number of special-interest resources, such as Shakespeare and Britannica's Guide to the Nobel Prizes. Particularly good for popular music topics.