- Find Information
- Research Guides
- AHC 5123: Research Methods
AHC 5123: Research Methods
Resources in Art History for graduate students.
Historiography, Theory, Methodology
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive art reference resource and excellent starting place for biographies of artists, architects, patrons, collectors, writers and scholars, as well as discussions of art movements, theory, and criticism. Provides a good introduction to art theorists/philosophers like Kant, Hegel, Winckelmann and others.
- Dictionary of Art HistoriansA free scholarly database providing biographical and methodological background information on major art historians of western art history.
Critical Terms for Art History by Call Number: N34 .C75 2003Essays that explain terms such as beauty, bricolage, fetishism, identity, postmodernism, the body, appropriation, representation, sign, simulacra, memory/monument, and more.
Art: Key Contemporary Thinkers by Call Number: N66 .A76 2007
Key Writers on Art by Call Number: N7475 .K49 2003Vol. 1: From Antiquity to the Nineteenth Century
Vol. 2: The Twentieth Century
Art History: The Basics by Call Number: N7425 .P59 2008A concise and accessible introduction to art history's theoretical concepts and methodologies. Recommended.
Methods and Theories of Art History by Call Number: N380 .D35 2012An excellent introduction to the critical theories used in analyzing art. Introduces the concept of theory and concludes with practical ideas for writing theoretically driven art history papers. Recommended.
Art History: A Critical Introduction to its Methods by Call Number: N7480 .H38 2006
The Methodologies of Art: An Introduction by Call Number: N7480 .A32 2010
Art History's History by Call Number: N380 .M556 2001
The Books That Shaped Art History: From Gombrich and Greenberg to Alpers and Krauss by Call Number: N7480 .B66 2013
A Companion to Art Theory by Call Number: N7475 .C662 2002
Media and Cultural Studies: Keyworks by Call Number: P94.6 .M424 2006
The Art of Art History: A Critical Anthology by Call Number: N7480 .A79 2009
The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods by Available as an e-book
An introduction to the field for a variety of visual researchers in art, sociology, anthropology, communication, education, cultural studies, women's studies, ethnic studies, global studies and related social science and humanities disciplines
Philosophy of Art
In addition to the featured books dealing with art theory, the following online resources provide good background information on well known philosophers of art. Click title to check availability.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by E-book. Background information on philosophers and wide ranging philosophical subjects.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCheck out the Art & Architecture section of Oxford Reference Online. Simultaneously search for your topic across more than 15 art-related dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of more than 900 volumes of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources in all disciplines. May limit by subject area such as arts or social sciences.