- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Arabic Language, Literature & Culture
Arabic Language, Literature & Culture
Library guide to print and online sources for learning Arabic. UTSA does not currently offer Arabic classes
Dictionaries
- Google TranslateWith more than 100 supported languages you can translate words, sentences, text and documents into or from your preferred language. Supports uploading and translation of documents including searchable PDFs.
Note: This is machine translation so 100% accuracy in translation and grammar not guaranteed. - WordReference.comEnglish/Arabic, Arabic/English dictionaries. Participate in online "forums" to ask questions or discuss meanings of words, phrases or idioms.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCross searchable and browsable full text subject, language and quotation dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions. Content covers a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary: English-Arabic, Arabic-EnglishCall Number: PJ6640 .O94 2010
Oxford-Duden Pictorial English Dictionary with English-Arabic IndexCall Number: PE1629 .O884 2003
Instant Arabic: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Arabic Phrasebook) by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2007Learn 100 words and phrases and say 1,000 things. The trick is knowing which 100 words to learn.
A Frequency Dictionary of Contemporary Arabic Fiction by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2021Provides a list of the top 2,000 words occurring in contemporary Arabic fiction. Based on a written corpus that contains 144 literary samples, the dictionary addresses key areas of Arabic language learning and teaching, including lexical frequency, reading skills, and Arabic literature.
Grammar
Click on a title to check its availability.
Arabic Verbs and Essentials of Grammar by Call Number: PJ6145 .W44 2008
Arabic: An Essential Grammar, 2nd edition by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2018An up-to-date and practical reference guide to the most important aspects of the language.
Arabic Verbs by Call Number: PJ6307 .M33 2007
Modern Standard Arabic Grammar: A Concise Guide by Call Number: PJ6307 .H377 2006
A Student Grammar of Modern Standard Arabic by Call Number: PJ6307 .S385 2004
The Semitic Languages: An International Handbook by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2011A comprehensive reference tool for Semitic Linguistics in its broad sense. It is not restricted to comparative Grammar, although it covers comparative aspects, including classification
Colloquial Arabic of Egypt by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780415811316Publication Date: 2014Provides a step-by-step course in spoken Egyptian Arabic - the most widely understood dialect in the Arab world.
