- Find Information
- Research Guides
- German Language, Literature & Culture
German Language, Literature & Culture
Guide to print and online sources for German language learning, literature and culture
Easy Readers
Easy readers and other bilingual books can help you learn a language by pairing short readings in the language you're learning with English side by side. Try reading the text and if you get stuck, look at the translation.
All of these titles are in German with parallel English translation. Click a title to check its availability.
Great German Short Stories of the Twentieth Century = Grosse Deutsche kurzgeschichten des zwanzigsten jahrhunderts by Call Number: PT1327 .G745 2012
Short Stories in German by Call Number: PT1338 .S46 2003
Five Great German Short Stories = Fünf deutsche Meistererzählungen by Call Number: PT1327 .F58 1993
German Short Stories 2 = Deutsche kurzgeschichten 2 by Call Number: PT1327 .G47 1976
Introduction to German Poetry by Call Number: PT1160 .E5 I68 1991
Great German Poems of the Romantic Era = Berühmte Gedichte der deutschen Romantik by Call Number: PT1160 .E5 G74 1995
Finding German Fiction in Translation
Try these searches to find individual German novels, short stories, etc. in English translation. You can also search for a book by its title or author.
german fiction
german literature
german "short stories"
german poetry
Literature
Click on a title to check its availability.
The Cambridge History of German Literature by Call Number: PT91 .C36 1997
Modern German Literature by Call Number: PT91 .M563 2011
The Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel by Call Number: PT771 .C36 2004
Find Articles in Databases
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes over 4,400 titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Primarily citations with some links to full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch periodicals in the humanities and social sciences including disciplines such as anthropology, area studies, economics, education, history, linguistics and philology, literature, music and the performing arts, and sociology, among others. Covers publications from the 15th century to the present. Includes full-text articles in languages other than English, with significant offerings in Spanish, French, and German.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Mostly citations and abstracts; some full-text linking.
- Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and full-image access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Abstracts are provided for dissertations beginning in 1980 and for master's theses beginning in 1988. Full-image PDFs are available for most titles published since 1997 and a limited number of titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1861 to the present.