- Find Information
- Research Guides
- German Language, Literature & Culture
German Language, Literature & Culture
Guide to print and online sources for German language learning, literature and culture
Photo credit: Dillenburg, Hesse, Germany. Werner Kunz via Compfight. cc
Dictionaries
- Google TranslateWith more than 100 supported languages you can translate words, sentences, text and documents into or from your preferred language. Supports uploading and translation of documents including searchable PDFs.
Note: This is machine translation so 100% accuracy in translation and grammar not guaranteed.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCross searchable and browsable full text subject, language and quotation dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions. Content covers a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.
Online Dictionaries
- WordReference.comEnglish/German, German/English dictionaries. Participate in online "forums" to ask questions or discuss meanings of words, phrases or idioms.
A Frequency Dictionary of German: Core Vocabulary for Learners by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2019Contains the 5,000 most commonly used words of German.
Print Dictionaries at the UTSA Libraries
Oxford German Dictionary: German-English, English-GermanCall Number: PF3640 .O9425 2008
Routledge German Dictionary of Business, Commerce and Finance Worterbuch Fur Wirtschaft, Handel und Finanzen EnglischCall Number: HF1002 .R685 2003Publication Date: 2002
Grammar
Click on a title to check its availability.
Hammer's German Grammar and Usage, Fifth Edition by Call Number: PF3112 .D77 2011Long trusted as the most comprehensive, up-to-date and user-friendly grammar available.
501 German Verbs: Fully Conjugated in all the Tenses in a New, Easy-to-learn Format, Alphabetically Arranged by Call Number: PF3271 .S855 2008
German Grammar in Context by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2019Using authentic texts from a variety of contemporary sources such as newspapers, magazines, poems, TV and film scripts, books or online sources, each chapter explores a key aspect of German grammar.
Intermediate German: A Grammar and Workbook by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2019Each of the units combines concise grammar explanations with examples and exercises to help build confidence and fluency.
Toward a Grammar of Proto-Germanic by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2011Comparative Germanic linguistics
