SET 2123: Steps to Starting My Career (Cannon)

Find Industry Publications

Trade journals or trade publications are the terms used in the publishing industry and databases for specialized publications of interest to professionals and practitioners in different areas. Typically, you may find new product announcements, industry trends, company rankings, market share and market size, trade shows and conferences, executive and expert interviews, industry salary surveys and more.

The databases below will help you identify titles of trade publications for sport, event and tourism management. Some titles are only available as citations and not in full-text, e.g. Special Events. As a UTSA student, you have free online access to these publications through relevant databases.

Many of these publications are also available as web portals on the Internet. For example, search the web for this title Special Events: On this site you can locate subscription fees if you were to subscribe individually.

Business Source Complete: Business Search Interface (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
On the right-hand menu, click on Trade Journals. Using the Browse Search Box, select By Title, Subject & Description. Suggested keywords: tourism, hospitality, event, sports.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (ulrichsweb.com) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information on journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and other periodical publications published in the U.S. and internationally. Includes pricing. Use Advanced Search and filters on the left-hand side to limit to trade journals published in the U.S.