Contains content on research methods from books, journals and reference sources; research methods videos; tutorials; case studies showing how research methods are applied; and practice datasets from actual research. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes entire "Little Green Book" (quantitative research) and "Little Blue Book" (qualitative research) series.
First published in English in 1968, Joseph Nuttin contributes the first chapter, on Motivation. He discusses various aspects of the motivational process. Such as incentives, conflict, social motivation, and negative motivation, and describes the mechanism of the process. The second chapter, by Paul Fraisse, is on the Emotions. Fraisse examines the nature of the emotions, both on the behavioural and on the neurophysiological levels, and goes on to define and discuss moving situations. He shows the different types of expression an emotional reaction may take, and discusses the causes of hyper
Presents a comprehensive and contemporary treatment of research methodologies used in experimental psychology. The volume is divided into three sections: Part One places experimental psychology in historical context and provides insights into current activities and future trends, Part Two investigates the changing nature of research methodology, experimental design, and analytic procedures, and Part Three features research in selected content areas. The chapters, written by leading researchers in the field, discuss topics such as cross-cultural research, ethical issues, research with animals, comparative psychology, sensation and perception research methods, physiological psychology, and research methods in human memory, cognition, motivation, and psychophysics. This handbook coherently illustrates the range of research methodologies used in experimental psychology and is a vital resource for both students and scholars who wish to expand their knowledge.
Contains more than 120 hours of video, including tutorials, case studies, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Videos are well-suited for flipped instruction, embedding in course management systems, and for use in-class. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action.
Provides access to data files in social science areas such as economics, social and political behavior and attitudes, education, population, and health. Raw data is derived from censuses, surveys, and administrative records in 7,000 data collections and over 500,000 individual data files. Includes documentation for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.