Diagnosis, Treatment, Handbooks & Other Background Resources
- DSM Library This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5, the most current resource for diagnosing and assessing mental disorders. Also included are the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, a resource for students and clinicians learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Case Studies which represent the mental disorders presented in the DSM-5 and provide diagnostic concepts, symptoms and severity of each disorder, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications.
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by ISBN: 9781585629985Publication Date: 2014-01-14The preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Based closely on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, it offers a rich selection of perspectives in an easy-to-use format.
Handbook of the Diagnosis and Treatment of DSM-5 Personality Disorders by ISBN: 0203763726Publication Date: 2016-04-01Since the publication of the acclaimed second edition of Handbook of Diagnosis and Treatment of DSM-IV-TR Personality Disorders, much has changed in how the personality disorders are understood and treated. However, like its previous editions, this new edition is a hands-on manual of the most current and effective, evidence-based assessment and treatment interventions for these challenging disorders. The beginning chapters describes several cutting-edge trends in the diagnosis, case conceptualization, and treatment of them. Then, specific chapters focus on evidence-based diagnosis and treatment interventions for each of the 10 DSM-5 personality disorders. Emphasized are the most recent developments from Cognitive Behavior Therapies, Dialectical Behavior Therapy, Cognitive Behavior Analysis System of Psychotherapy, Pattern-Focused Psychotherapy, Mindfulness, Schema Therapy, Transference Focused Psychotherapy, and Mentalization-Based Treatment. As in previous editions, extensive case material is used to illustrate key points of diagnosis and treatment.
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by ISBN: 1585624632Publication Date: 2013-11-08Presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5®, bringing DSM-5® alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5® and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowA database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.
Topics covered:
Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology by ISBN: 1446250075Publication Date: 2012-08-21Provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, culminating in a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories by ISBN: 1441904638Publication Date: 2014-07-08Surveys the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience. It sets the theories into their historical context and cross-reference key influences, such as Darwin on Freud.
- Oxford Handbook of Education and Training in Professional Psychology by ISBN: 0199874026Publication Date: 2014-01-01Provides the first comprehensive treatment of the processes and current state-of-the art practices bearing on educating and training professional psychologists. Thousands of psychologists are employed full-time as faculty members or clinical supervisors in graduate, practicum, internship, and postdoctoral training programs or training sites. This handbook provides a single resource that pulls together the substantial scholarship on education and training in psychology, covering the full spectrum of historic developments, salient issues, current standards, and emerging trends in psychology education and training.
Handbook of the Social Psychology of Inequality by ISBN: 9789401790024Publication Date: 2014-08-18Provides the first comprehensive overview of social psychological research on inequality for a graduate student and professional audience. Drawing on all of the major theoretical traditions in sociological social psychology, its chapters demonstrate the relevance of social psychological processes to this central sociological concern. Each chapter in the volume has a distinct substantive focus, but the chapters will also share common emphases on: * The unique contributions of sociological social psychology * The historical roots of social psychological concepts and theories in classic sociological writings * The complementary and conflicting insights that derive from different social psychological traditions in sociology. This Handbook is of interest to graduate students preparing for careers in social psychology or in inequality, professional sociologists and university/college libraries.- Psychologists' Desk Reference by ISBN: 9780199845507Publication Date: 2013-01-01Includes several new chapters on emerging topics in psychology and incoporates updates from top clinicians and program directors in the field. This classic companion for mental health practioners presents an even larger variety of information required in daily practice in one easy-to-use resource.
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology by ISBN: 0199328714Publication Date: 2014-04-28Synthesizes decades of literature in one extraordinary volume. Comprising chapters from the foremost scholars in clinical psychology, the handbook provides even and authoritative coverage of the research, practice, and policy factors that combine toform today's clinical psychology landscape. In addition to core sections on topics such as training, assessment, diagnosis, and intervention, the handbook includes valuable chapters devoted to new and emerging issues in the clinical field, including heath care reforms, cultural factors, and technological innovations and challenges.- Specialty Competencies in Professional Psychology by ISBN: 0199908230Publication Date: 2013-01-01Examines the need for competency-minded training in clinical psychology and provides a comprehensive overview of specific functional and foundational competencies in the specialty.
