- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Chemical Engineering
Chemical Engineering
This guide provides key chemical engineering texts, information on evaluating sources, and other engineering resources
Full Patent Databases
- Advanced Google PatentsGoogle Patents covers U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) since 1790; European Patent Office (EPO) and World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) since 1978. Also: Basic Google Patents.
- Advanced Google Search: Google PatentsUTSA Library Research Guide
- Patent Public SearchPatent Public Search is the USPTO's primary patents database, containing (a) US patent grants from 1790 to the most recent weekly issue date, and (b) published applications since 2001. Searching applications is important because of the "first to file" principle.
- U.S. Patent & Trademark OfficeUSPTO, a federal agency in the Department of Commerce, includes extensive information on Patents and Trademarks as well as a Patent Tutorial. Obtain copies of forms, information on fee structure and extensive general information on U.S. patents and trademarks. The Patent Full-Text Database is searchable back to 1790. The years 1790-1975 can be searched by class and patent number only.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet)Provides indexing and full text patents and applications from European and other patent offices worldwide, including U.S., Japan, and Germany. (EP, WIPO/PCT, US, GB, FR, DE, JP, and over 70 countries). You can save PDFs of available documents up to a certain page limit. This is the site SciFinder links to for non-U.S. patents. 1836-present
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowIndexes and cross-references worldwide chemical patents. Note: PatentPak is an add-on workflow tool within SciFinder to enhance access to and analysis of full text patent documents. UTSA does not subscribe to PatentPak functionality apart from 5 free trial uses per user account.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowPatent search available from top drop-down menu.
International Patents and Trademarks
Patent Office Directories
- Directory of Intellectual Property OfficesListing of Intellectual Property Offices by country. From World Intellectual Property Organization
Patent Databases for Foreign Patents
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowPatent search available from top drop-down menu. For intellectual property by company: from within the Business Topic module, use Company Dossier and search a company for a profile package which includes intellectual property.
- Canadian Patents DatabaseAccess to over 75 years of Canadian patent descriptions and images from more than 1,400,000 patent documents. Maintained by Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO).
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new windowContains Esp@cenet for patent information from the European Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, patent abstracts of Japan, and published patents from over 71 countries; USPTO for patents from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Coverage and update frequency varies.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet)Provides indexing and full text patents and applications from European and other patent offices worldwide, including U.S., Japan, and Germany. (EP, WIPO/PCT, US, GB, FR, DE, JP, and over 70 countries). You can save PDFs of available documents up to a certain page limit. This is the site SciFinder links to for non-U.S. patents. 1836-present
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)A specialized agency of the United Nations dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property system. An inventor who files for patent protection in any of the participating countries has 12 months to apply for protection in any of the other participating countries. This website includes the full-text of the Patent Cooperation Treaty and provides links to national patent offices.
- Indian Patent Search Service - InPASSIndian Patent Advanced Search System (InPASS) is an updated version of IPAIRS
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowIndexes and cross-references worldwide chemical patents. Note: PatentPak is an add-on workflow tool within SciFinder to enhance access to and analysis of full text patent documents. UTSA does not subscribe to PatentPak functionality apart from 5 free trial uses per user account
- AusPatAustralian Patents search database.
Patent & Trademark Law
- Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR)Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (current).
Codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published by executive departments and agencies in the Federal Register. Divided into 50 broad subject areas known as Titles.
Other CFR sources:
Online (UTSA subscription): ProQuest Congressional (under "Regulations" on top menu) (1938-current)
Official Government Website: govinfo.gov (1996-current) (Annual Edition)
Nexis Uni (current)
Library of Congress (1938-1999) - United States Code Annotated (USCA) (West)Print: Offsite KF62 (Title 1-50, USCA Code Guide, General Index A-Z, USCA Tables I-II, USCA Laws) (Current volumes no longer received)
From West Publishing, unofficial compilation of general and permanent laws in force. Same arrangement as United States Code (USC) but also lists references to case law, legislative histories, administrative regulations and various secondary sources. - United States Code (USC) (govinfo.gov) (USC)Official Government Website (editions: 1994-current).
Official version of all general and permanent federal laws in force. Public Laws are arranged under fifty “titles” or subject categories. Does not summarize legislative history but cites Statutes at Large. Older editions available. - U.S. Code CollectionFrom Cornell University. This site is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives. Patent and trademark law is codified in Title 35 of the United States Code.