The Colonial and State Records of North Carolina has been an extraordinary resource for students of North Carolina's history for over one hundred years. The series includes documents and materials from throughout the country and from several European repositories covering the earliest days of North Carolina's settlement by Europeans through the ratification of the United States Constitution.
This digitized collection focuses on the four earliest known censuses and inventories of Arkansas Post (1723, 1726, 1743, 1749) and provides evidence of the ancestors whose names are found on these historic rosters of the Lower Mississippi Valley. Using her correspondence with archivists and fellow researchers, her personal notes, copied relevant articles and primary documents, along with family tree charts, this collection provides evidence of the paths taken by a superb genealogist to unearth the history of Arkansas’ earliest European settlers. Though some of these paths remain unexplored, or fork at times towards different ancestral names, this information can help present and future researchers better understand the process of genealogy--the challenges and aspirations but also the joys of finding evidence and links between documents and the documented.
Public Records of the Colony of Connecticut, 1636-1776. Includes the records of the colonial governing body; the Code of Laws, May 1650; the Charter of Connecticut; Journal and Correspondence of the Council of War, 1675-1677; and more.
Also includes Record of Wills and Inventories, 1640-1649. Vital to any serious research into the history of Connecticut, the Colonial Connecticut Records is a wealth of information dealing with history, political science, law, agriculture, sociology, policies towards native Americans, military history, foreign relations, and more.
This is a digital representation of the Early American Document Collection, an artificial collection comprising Colonial Era documents from a variety of donors and locations. Within this digital collection are scanned images of colonial American documents, as well as details and images of watermarks (where applicable). Inclusive dates are largely bulked between 1727-1728, and also from 1775-1787. There are not many mid-century documents, pertaining to topics like the French and Indian War, or specific topics on daily colonial life. The collection contains broadsides, manuscripts, and other material from the colonial era and early republic, with most being land and legal documents from Pennsylvania. The majority of material pertains to administration in colonial Philadelphia, and the American Revolution. Many of the court, petition, and survey documents concern the wards and organization of colonial Philadelphia. 1728 survey documents, Philadelphia Mayor correspondence for William Fishbourn and Thomas Lawrence, and documents published in Germann directed towards the German-speaking peoples in Pennsylvania, known as the Pennsylvania Dutch, are examples of the material that can be found within this collection. Transcriptions accompany some of these documents. The Early American Document Collection also contains a strong variety of colonial watermarks, which are hidden symbols laid into the paper by the papermaker for recognition, from domestic and foreign paper.
Louisiana documents from 1655 to 1924 with a strong emphasis on the French colonial, Spanish colonial, and early national periods. Includes correspondence, land sales, slave sales, plantation journals, business licenses, property sales, professional and family papers, legal documents, land grants, tax receipts, theater programs, broadsides, engravings, and more. A noted Louisiana document collector, Felix Kuntz (1890-1971) donated his collection to Tulane University in four installments beginning in 1954 and requested that it be named after his parents. Today, the Rosemond E. and Emile Kuntz Collection (LaRC Manuscripts Collection 600) is a renowned resource for studying Louisiana with a special emphasis on New Orleans. Particularly noteworthy are records from the Company of the Indies, papers of Francisco Bouligny describing early French and Spanish authority over Louisiana, documents spanning Louisiana's entry into the United States through the Civil War and New Orleans? growth as a major commercial center, New Orleans municipal records (1805-1850s, including an 1805 census), and several small personal and family collections such as those of John McDonogh, the Pontalba family, and the Pierson family.
Unearthing St. Augustine’s Colonial Heritage seeks to bring the study of the past into the modern research environment. St. Augustine has been a research mecca for archaeologists, historians, and other scholars seeking to understand the complex legacies of the Spanish borderlands and the American Southeast. For half a century, the city has also been a focal point of work in historic preservation. As Florida moves towards its 500th anniversary (2013) and St. Augustine looks ahead to the celebration of the 450th anniversary of its founding (2015), researchers need 21st century Web access to materials that have traditionally been available only in paper and often for on-site use only.