Linguistics and Study of Human Language

Ethnologue remains one of the most useful scholarly reference sources on languages of the world. The Ethnologue: Languages of the World, The comprehensive reference volume catalogs all the known living languages .It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive listing of information of its kind. A new edition is published approximately every four years.

Comprehensive reference work cataloging all known living languages. This volume includes: 2,341 languages of Asia with descriptions organized by continent and country, 17,822 primary names, alternate names, and dialect names, 53 country overviews with graphical language vitality profiles 78 color maps show location and distribution of languages.

Comprehensive reference work that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. Ethnologue(R) is published in three volumes. Each volume is self-contained and can be used independently. This volume catalogs the languages of Africa and Europe. It includes: 2,474 language descriptions organized by continent and country 20,112 primary names, alternate names, and dialect names 108 country overviews with graphical language vitality profiles 83 color maps showing location and distribution of languages

This volume catalogs the languages of the Americas and the Pacific. It includes: 2,644 language descriptions organized by continent and country 15,598 primary names, alternate names, and dialect names 81 country overviews with graphical language vitality profiles 75 color maps showing location and distribution of languages.

The full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics with special attention given to interrelations within branches of linguistics and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.

Utilizing a historical and international approach, this resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader.

List of languages of the world (including information on no. of speakers, language family, etc.) * Approximately 700 biographical entries 200 language maps.
Includes "Language Situation" entry for each country.

Provides accessible and concise explanations of key concepts and terms related to research methods in applied linguistics. A-Z coverage of 570 key methodological terms from all areas of applied linguistics; detailed analysis of each entry, visual illustrations, cross-references.

Las investigaciones que tratan el español hablado en los países que conforman América Central (Belice, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica y Panamá) han quedado rezagadas durante décadas, a tal punto que lo único que imperaba, al margen de algunas excepciones, eran trabajos hechos por aficionados en lexicografía prescriptiva.

Collection of 70 newly-commissioned case studies, offering access to research completed over the last 40 years.

Endangered languages make up 90% of the world's remaining language stocks. Each regional section contains an introduction that deals with problems of language preservation peculiar to the area, surveys of known extinct languages, and problems of classification. The introduction is followed by a list of all known languages within the region, endangered or not, arranged by genetic affiliation, with endangered and extinct languages marked. Maps are provided to pinpoint the more complex clusters of smaller languages.

Interdisciplinary, applied spatial and geographical approach to the study of languages and linguistics. Includes language origins, diffusion, conflicts, policies, instruction, technology, politics, diversity, cultural identify, . Also addressed is the mapping of languages and linguistic diversity, on language in the context of politics, endangered languages, and non-human language and communication.