A database of maps and bibliographical references on the structural properties (phonological, grammatical, lexical) of languages. Includes information on location, linguistic affiliation and basic classification features of more than 2,650 languages. A joint project of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology and the Max Planck Digital Library.
Premier resource for etymological studies containing the meaning, history, and derivation of over half a million words in the English language. Provides examples of both current and historical word usage through more than 2.5 million quotations from a variety of sources. Includes etymological analysis, pronunciation, and variant spellings.
IED Online is a collection of etymological dictionaries that together reconstruct the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. Includes Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old-Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, Iranian verb, Proto-Nostratic, Baltic, Tocharian B, and Proto-Germanic. (Persian is forthcoming). Dictionaries can be cross-searched or searched individually. Each entry has grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and bibliographical information.
This revised edition depicts the location of every known living language, including languages on the point of extinction. Includes a general linguistic history of each section and an overview of the genetic relations of the languages. Covers over 6,000 languages with 150 full-color maps.
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) is a full-text collection of primary and secondary materials and ethnographies on nearly 400 different ethnic, cultural, religious, and national groups worldwide. It is useful for finding information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. HRAF includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, dissertations, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts. Search by keyword, geographic (OWC) codes, or topical (OCM) classification scheme.
Indexes the international literature in linguistics and language sciences. Includes abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Significant linkage to full text. 1920 - current.
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes thousands of titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials, from the late 19th century to the present.
Incorporates the indexes CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication and mass media studies. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals and selected coverage of over 230 more, with full-text articles for more than 240 journals. Coverage for some titles begins in 1915.
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920s-1999. The bibliography consists of 80 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually; a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 has been indexed retrospectively.
Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily
Provides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.
Search current and retrospective information from 12,000+ high-impact research journals worldwide. Provides seamless access to Science Citation Expanded (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900- ), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- ), Conference Proceedings Index (1990- ), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-2017). Cited reference searching enables tracking prior research, gauging the impact of research, and to locate articles that share common references.
Ethnologue remains one of the most useful scholarly reference sources on languages of the world. The Ethnologue: Languages of the World, The comprehensive reference volume catalogs all the known living languages .It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive listing of information of its kind. A new edition is published approximately every four years.
Comprehensive reference work cataloging all known living languages. This volume includes: 2,341 languages of Asia with descriptions organized by continent and country, 17,822 primary names, alternate names, and dialect names, 53 country overviews with graphical language vitality profiles 78 color maps show location and distribution of languages.
Comprehensive reference work that catalogs all the known living languages in the world today. Ethnologue(R) is published in three volumes. Each volume is self-contained and can be used independently. This volume catalogs the languages of Africa and Europe. It includes: 2,474 language descriptions organized by continent and country 20,112 primary names, alternate names, and dialect names 108 country overviews with graphical language vitality profiles 83 color maps showing location and distribution of languages
This volume catalogs the languages of the Americas and the Pacific. It includes: 2,644 language descriptions organized by continent and country 15,598 primary names, alternate names, and dialect names 81 country overviews with graphical language vitality profiles 75 color maps showing location and distribution of languages.
Selectively indexes articles and essays in anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields from more than 900 journals and monographic series published in English and other European languages.
Covers worldwide literature in general anthropology, physical and cultural anthropology, archaeology, ethnology, and linguistics. Material is arranged geographically. Published quarterly. The Anthropological Index Online is the anthropological index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library). Coverage: 1957 to present. Citations only.
Provides full-text access to computer science and information technology literature in all ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals and magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, and SIG newsletters. Some coverage begins in the 1950s.
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.
Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and more from scholarly sources and specialized magazines. Covers topics related to art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more.
Indexes research literature in the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering, and information technology. Features more than 8 million records from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Contains over two million citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Some full-text.
Comprehensive online catalog of library holdings locally and worldwide. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, open access resources, and other materials from academic, public, corporate, and specialized libraries. Get It For Me button allows you to request to borrow an item.