- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Architecture: Home
Subject Guide for Architecture and Architectural History Students.
Scholarly Resources Librarian
UTSA Downtown Library BVB 2.314H
Social: LinkedIn Page Twitter Page
Use these indexes and databases to find articles in both professional and scholarly journals. An article that is not available in full text can be requested by clicking on the button.
White Cloud Media Group. (n.d.). Frost Tower. Retrieved March 31, 2022, from https://thefrosttower.com/
Starting Points / Top Resources
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 2,500 U.S. and international journals in architecture, historic preservation, archaeology, city planning, and interior design. Most coverage is from the 1930s to the present with selective coverage from the 1860s. No full text. Request articles via Get It For Me.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers a wealth of research topics in design--from architecture to packaging, marketing to advertising, photography to typography, metalworking to multimedia, and industrial design to interior design. Indexes and abstracts more than 130,000 research articles, reports, reviews, and news items from over 500 design and craft journals and newspapers. Also provides information on more than 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. Database subfiles include an international directory of educational institutions that offer courses in design and craft and an international directory of design and craft periodicals. See also Design Abstracts Retrospective.
- DAR: Design Abstracts Retrospective This link opens in a new windowA retrospective of DAAI: Design & Applied Arts Index, DAR provides access to more than 70 design and design-related journals, from 1900-1986. See also DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index.
- AHRnet: Art History Research net This link opens in a new windowFour related and cross-searchable databases including ReVIEW, a digitized, fully-searchable collection of rare out of print decorative and fine arts journals from the late nineteenth to the early twentieth centuries; Arts + Architecture ProFILES, a biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects; Arts: Search Research Guides on a variety of art-related topics; and DAR: Design Abstracts Retrospective, a retrospective of DAAI: Design & Applied Arts Index. DAR provides access to more than 70 design and design-related journals, from 1900-1986. See also DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index.