Architecture

A guide to resources and databases for architecture and architectural history research.

Getting Started

There are two practices that you can use to find articles in professional journals:

1. Use the "Articles" tab to find an ARTICLE DATABASE to search many journals all at once.

2. Use the "E-Journals" tab to go to a SINGLE PUBLICATION directly and search for articles within that publication.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and sustainable design. Coverage is primarily from the 1930s to the present (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s). No full text. Request articles via Get It For Me.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wealth of research topics in design--from architecture to packaging, marketing to advertising, photography to typography, metalworking to multimedia, and industrial design to interior design. Indexes and abstracts more than 130,000 research articles, reports, reviews, and news items from over 500 design and craft journals and newspapers. Also provides information on more than 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. Database subfiles include an international directory of educational institutions that offer courses in design and craft and an international directory of design and craft periodicals. See also Design Abstracts Retrospective.
CUMINCAD This link opens in a new window
Note: Users must create individual login accounts in CumInCAD to access full-text publications. Cumulative index of publications in computer-aided architectural design, including journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS, and others.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search current and retrospective information from 12,000+ high-impact research journals worldwide. Provides seamless access to Science Citation Expanded (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900- ), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- ), Conference Proceedings Index (1990- ), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-2017). Cited reference searching enables tracking prior research, gauging the impact of research, and to locate articles that share common references.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials in the public domain (i.e., published before 1924), government documents, or materials made available by the copyright holder. Copyrighted items are still available for full-text searching.