- Oxford Music Online: Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive music reference resource and logical starting place for biographies, definitions, or information on classical music, opera, popular music, jazz, folk, and world music from many cultures and countries. Most articles offer bibliographies, and articles on composers provide detailed lists of works. Provides access to Grove Music Online, which includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 2.5 million audio tracks on 155,000 discs from over 940 recording labels. Classical music is the primary genre, but also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, and traditional music. Includes more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, as well as libretti and synopses of over 1,000 operas.
If you're interested in using the Naxos Mobile App, please contact William Glenn.
- Music and Performing Arts Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowCross-searches thirteen music and performing arts collections from Alexander Street, including thousands of classical music scores, streaming music tracks in a variety of genres, and major music encyclopedias and dictionaries.
The following databases are included:
- Music Online: African American Music Reference
- Music Online: American Music
- Music Online: Classical Music Library
- Music Online: Classical Music in Videos
- Music Online: Classical Scores Library
- Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library
- Music Online: Jazz Music Library
- Music Online: Popular Music Library
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Theater in Context Collection
- Film Scripts Online (Vol. 1)
- Music Online: Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 24,000 of the most important classical music scores for compositions from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions of pieces. Many of the scores have linked streaming music tracks in Classical Music Library. This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
- Music Index Online (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 800 U.S. and international periodicals in music and related fields, as well as book reviews; obituaries; and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes music and performance reviews.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCites materials covering all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. For 19th and early 20th century coverage, see RIPM.
UTSA Libraries: Services
- Borrow Tech GearFind out what tech gear is available to borrow from the UTSA Libraries.
- Get It For Me (Non-UTSA materials via Interlibrary Loan)Get articles, books, scores, recordings, and other material from libraries around the world.
- TexShareTexShare is a statewide library resource-sharing program. It allows users from one library to check out library materials at other participating libraries.
Libraries in the Arts Building at UTSA
The Arts Building houses both the Piano Pedagogy Library and the Music Ensemble Library. The collection in the Piano Pedagogy Library includes piano scores and a teaching repertoire geared toward those who will teach piano to others. The collection is arranged by subject.
The Music Ensemble Library, located on the main floor of the Arts Building, supports all choral and instrumental ensembles by organizing individual parts and conductors' scores. The library is staffed by music majors who catalog and register new music, prepare existing scores for rehearsals, and sort and shelve music following performances.
For more information about the Piano Pedagogy or Music Ensemble Libraries or the Music Department, please contact the Music Department at (210) 458-4354.