We're here for you! See hours, policies, contactless delivery, & e-resources

ARC 4156 Building Design Studio (Fish)

This course guide supports Architecture course ARC 4156 by providing resources and materials to support students' knowledge about architectural design.

Reference

Reference: Better than "googling."

Photo of the Palafoxiana Library in Puebla, MexicoYes, you can "google" a list of architects, and though that is one approach to start your research, it is one that can lead you down a rabbit hole of information. If you want to bypass all the nuisance of searching through the web here are scholarly databases and books to get you started on the best path of discovering architecture.

Image credit: López, D. (2018). Biblioteca Palafoxiana [Apple iPhone 8].

Databases

eBooks and eTextbooks

book cover

The Architecture of Modern Italy

This groundbreaking and authoritative two-volume survey is the first truly comprehensive history of modern Italian architecture and urbanism to appear in any language. Told in lively prose, it recounts more than 250 years of experimentation, creativity, and turmoil that have shaped the landscape of contemporary Italy. Volume II: Visions of Utopia, 1900Present, tracks the development of Italys architectural avant-garde through the upheavals of the twentieth century. Beginning with the development of Italian art nouveau--stile liberty--and moving through futurism, fascism, rationalism, and on to the creative experimentation of the present day, it explores the work of such pivotal figures as Raimondo dAronco, Antonio SantElia, Adalberto Libera, Giuseppe Terragni, Pier Luigi Nervi, Gio Ponti, Carlo Scarpa, Aldo Rossi, and Renzo Piano. The Architecture of Modern Italy is exhaustively illustrated with rare period images, new photography, maps, drawings, and plans. With Colin Rowe's Italian Architecture of the 16th Century, it provides a nearly complete overview of the history of Italian architecture.

book cover

Moderns Abroad

This volume studies the architecture and urbanism of modern-era Italian colonialism (1869-1943) as it sought to build colonies in North and East Africa and the eastern Mediterranean. Mia Fuller follows, not only the design of the physical architecture, but also the development of colonial design theory, based on the assumptions made about the colonized, and also the application of modernist theory to both Italian architecture and that of its colonies. Moderns Abroad is the first book to present an overview of Italian colonial architecture and city planning. In chronicling Italian architects' attempts to define a distinctly Italian colonial architecture that would set Italy apart from Britain and France, it provides a uniquely comparative study of Italian colonialism and architecture that will be of interest to specialists in modern architecture, colonial studies, and Italian studies alike.

book cover

The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture

The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture constitutes a complete revision and expansion -- with the addition of the increasingly popular subject of landscape architecture -- of a work that has long been recognized as the standard in its field. Entirely reset and reillustrated, this edition includes many new entries on American architects and architecture. Highly readable, thoroughly cross-referenced, and with bibliographies for further reading, this is an essential reference for architects, students of architecture, and general readers with an interest in the field.

book cover

The A to Z of Architecture

One could make a serious case that the Bible is the most influential book in the western world. Yet the Jewish and Christian Bibles are distinct, as are Catholic and Protestant Bibles. In truth, each of these religion's collection of sacred scripture is really a library rather than a single book. Further, each tradition reads its sacred texts through a unique lens.   This comprehensive introduction to the various collections of biblical literature used by Jews, Catholics, and Protestants gives the beginner clear, concise, and engaging entries into each book of the Bible, covering major controversies. The authors also show how various biblical books have influenced and continue to have an impact upon western ethics, politics, and of course religion. Opening with a series of brief chapters that draw the reader into the world of the Bible and biblical scholarship, and utilizing artistic renderings and charts, this book is student friendly but communicates a depth of learning in a responsible and balanced fashion.

The Architecture of Modern Italy

This groundbreaking and authoritative two-volume survey is the first truly comprehensive history of modern Italian architecture and urbanism to appear in any language. Told in lively prose, it recounts more than 250 years of experimentation, creativity, and turmoil that have shaped the landscape of contemporary Italy. Volume I: The Challenge of Tradition, 17501900, explores the dynamic balancing of forces demanded by a reverence for Italy's unparalleled architectural patrimony and a desire for new means of expression and technological innovation. From the neoclassical fantasies of Giovanni Battista Piranesi to the spectacular steeland-glass gallerias of Milan and Naples, it reveals an underappreciated history of richness and complexity. The Architecture of Modern Italy is exhaustively illustrated with rare period images, new photography, maps, drawings, and plans. With Colin Rowe's Italian Architecture of the 16th Century, it provides a nearly complete overview of the history of Italian architecture.