ARC 4156: Building Design Studio (Fish)

Widely used in architectural circles in the heat of discussion, the recurrent use of particular words and terms has evolved into a language of design jargon. Commonly found in architectural literature and journalism, in critical design debate and especially in student project reviews, Archispeak can seem insular and perplexing to others and -- particularly to the new architectural student -- often incomprehensible. There is a need to translate architectural design concepts into spoken and written commentary -- each word in use embodying a precise and universally accepted architectural meaning. If we explore the vocabulary of this language we gain insight into good design practice and into collective understanding of what constitutes a refined architecture. This unique illustrated guide will help students understand the nuances of this specialized language and help them in communicating their own design ideas.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A classic since 1975, the Dictionary of Architecture and Construction is one of the most trusted resources in the AEC community. The Fourth Edition features nearly 25,000 definitions and 2,500 illustrations, making it the most comprehensive dictionary in the industry Updated and expanded, this Fourth Edition of the most trusted reference in architecture offers the most comprehensive coverage of architectural and construction terms available. This classic dictionary now features nearly 25,000 definitions (including 2,800 new terms), 2,500 illustrations (including 200 new illustrations), and maintains its extraordinary visual appeal and easy-to-read page design.Prepared by a renowned architectural editor in association with expert contributors and incorporating the work of many standards groups, the book presents clear, concise definitions of terms in nearly 80 working areas.  The Fourth Edition covers new industry terms which have emerged due to changes in engineering and building technologies, organizations, materials, and legal developments, and has been expanded to include more historic architectural styles. New terms include: Legal Architectural Barriers Act Wheelchair Accessible Materials Fibrous Concrete Latex Mortar Polymer-Based Stucco Concrete Compliance Conformity Refractory Mortar Organizations Building Research Establishment (formerly Building Research Station) of Great Britain ASTM Historic Architectural Styles Anglo-Palladianism French Victorian Isabellino Mudajar Mozarabic Neo-Rococo

A comprehensive summary of the vocabulary used across the building industry, from the preparation of an architectural brief, through creative and technical design, to construction technology and facilities management. The latest edition has several substantially revised entries as well as many new additions, including new illustrations and terms. Covering a range of disciplines across architecture and building and including both SI metric and Imperial units, this dictionary and reference work will enable students and professionals to use and understand vocabulary from other areas of expertise, and contribute to better communication.

This pocket-sized dictionary offers huge coverage for the 40,000 plus people studying or working in architecture, construction or any of the built environment fields. From Abaciscus to Zophorus, the reader is able to quickly track down precisely the term they are looking for. It is illustrated with stunning drawings that provide a visual as well as a textual definition of both key concepts and subtle differences in meaning.Compact and affordable; Davies and Jokiniemi's work is the miniature version of the Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction. The Architect's Illustrated Pocket Dictionary can be used on site or quickly at the desk and is suitable for all those interested in the buildings that surround us.