Geography

Use PolicyMap to bring sophisticated data, mapping and analytics to fields beyond traditional GIS and planning departments. From public health to sociology and law, students can use PolicyMap to create maps, reports and analyses to enable a deeper understanding of crucial areas in their fields.

Primary search tool to browse and access U.S. census data and build custom, downloadable tables, charts, reports, maps and data visualizations. Includes detailed data on population, housing, economics, and geographies from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census and other surveys.
Topics and geographies are easy to search using the single search bar, or access more detailed data using the filters in the Advanced Search option.
Access data.census.gov tutorials.

LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24 hour period and was developed at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

The LandScan algorithm uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and the most up-to-date census data within an administrative boundary. Most national censuses count populations by measuring where people sleep (or reside) rather than where they work or travel. LandScan integrates daytime movements and collective travel habits into a single measure to produce a better representation of where people are located during an average day.

The National Map comprises a variety of products and services that provide the Nation with access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories. Be sure to read the pdf "about" document.

This web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area. Additional modules include:
1. SimmonsLOCAL, a targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets drilled down the block group level.
2. Claritas PRIZM, a consumer segmentation system which combines demographic, consumer behavior, and geographic data into 66 consumer segments to help marketers identify, understand, and target their customers and prospects.
3.Claritas ConneXions, a consumer segmentation system which classify U.S households into 53 consumer segments based on the technology and communications purchasing and usage preferences.
4. Claritas P$YCLE, a consumer segmentation system which classifies U.S. households into one of 58 consumer segments based on the income-producing assets.
Only a few people can use this database at one time.

Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily

Selectively indexes and abstracts the geoscience literature of the world including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and dissertations. Coverage for North America is 1785 to the present; coverage for the rest of the world is from 1933 to the present.

Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.

Provides full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals and e-books published by Elsevier. Indexes and abstracts articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.