Works Issued by the Hakluyt Society
Works Issued by the Hakluyt SocietyISBN: Book Series (231 titles)Primary resource books on voyages of discovery, history of exploration, maritime history, and historical travel accounts of voyages and travels undertaken by individuals in many parts of the globe on geography, ethnology and natural history.
Published by The Hakluyt Society which lists a bibliography of all titles in series.
Some titles are freely available online in: HathiTrust
E-Books
Guide to Countries of the World (4th edition) by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2016This A-Z guide provides a wealth of information giveinh a brief history and outlining contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues.
Oxford Reference Online
Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2020 (6th edition)Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford Companion to World Exploration by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2007Covering all aspects of global exploration, from Antarctica to the North Pole, examining the lives and expeditions of influential explorers. Coverage includes biographies, ancient and medieval navigation techniques, ocean currents and winds, cartography, and aerial surveys. Annotated primary source materials, such as travel logs and personal letters, supplement select biographies. Published in association with Newberry Library in Chicago, reproducing images from its world-renowned collection.
Oxford Reference Online
Rivers of North America by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2011Award winning book brings together information from regional specialists on the major river basins of North America presented in a large-format with photographs and topographical maps. Introduction covers general aspects of geology, hydrology, ecology and human impacts on rivers followed by 22 chapters on the major river basins.
Mapping the Nation: History and Cartography in Nineteenth-Century America by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2012Reveals how maps became informational tools charting everything from epidemics to slavery. After the Civil War, federal agencies embraced statistical and thematic mapping in order to profile the ethnic, racial, economic, moral, and physical attributes of a reunified nation. By the end of the century, Congress had authorized a national archive of maps, a recognition that old maps were not relics to be discarded but unique records of the nation's past
Books
Making Sense: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing: Geography & Environmental Sciences by Call Number: H62 .N735 2015Publication Date: 2015 (6th edition)Outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage, while covering such issues as how to prepare research proposals and reports, how to carry out lab and field work, and how to illustrate your work.
A Dictionary of Geography by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2015 (5th edition)Containing entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development.
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2016 (4th edition)Comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary covers the whole field of physical geography.
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures by Call Number: G63 .K874 2007Publication Date: 2007Provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. Includes tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts.
