- Find Information
- Research Guides
- American Indian History
American Indian History
United States Indian Policy Documents
Documents of United States Indian Policy by Available as an e-book
Native American Treaties and Congressional Documents
- Native American People Treaties, Ratified and Unratified (via Nexis Uni)Search full text of historical Indian treaties (1787-1883) by keyword. Treaties in text format. Individual treaties also available full image in Serial Set with other supporting Senate Documents in ProQuest Congressional.
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Kappler's Indian Affairs)Digital version of the historically significant 7 volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes.
- Treaties Between the United States and Native AmericansTranscribed documents in chronological order, 1778 - 1868. From the Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- Indian Treaties, 1778-1883 byCall Number: KF8203 .1972bOriginally published as Indian Affairs Laws and Treaties.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.
- The American Indian and the United States: A Documentary History byCall Number: E93 .W27Four volumes divided into five categories: reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs; congressional debates; acts of Congress; treaties and judicial decisions. Each category is in chronological order with a brief introduction.
U.S. Executive Branch Documents on Microfiche
Note: These are Executive Documents and thus not indexed in Congressional Universe.
- U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909Call Number: J83 .C50 D6This collection on microfiche is material issued by federal executive departments and agencies, including reports, bulletins, serials, speeches, rules & decisions, memorandums, etc. and not included in the Serial Set.
Records to the microfiche collection are indexed in the Print Catalog. To search, include "executive branch documents" in your search.
Example: in the Keyword search:
"executive branch documents" and "indian reservations"
There is also an excellent print index shelved with the microfiche collection:
JPL 4th Floor Microforms J83 .C5
To find microfiche you must know: Collection Name (U.S. Executive Branch Documents)
Collection Year range: (either 1789-1909 or 1910-1932) (two separate collections)
Fiche Call Number: example: SI 1-76-6
Republic of Texas Treaties
Treaties made by the Republic of Texas are not included in the LexisNexis database; however, the text of several can be found on the web or in published form.
Additionally, we recommend reading the "The Indian Policy of the Republic of Texas" by Anna Muckleroy, published in four parts in the Southwestern Historical Quarterly in April 1922.
- The Indian Policy of the Republic of Texas, Part VNumbered IV in the Table of Contents, but distinct from the previous article.
- Comanche Treaties with the Republic of TexasCall Number: E99.C85 D468 1977