We're here for you! See hours, policies, contactless delivery, & e-resources

Web Archiving

This guide covers web archiving, UTSA's web archiving efforts, and considerations for researchers.

UTSA's archived websites

What is a web archive?

What is web archiving?

"Web archiving is the process of collecting portions of the World Wide Web, preserving the collections in an archival format, and then serving the archives for access and use."

What is Archive-It?

"Archive-It is the leading web archiving solution for a wide range of organizations, including academic, federal, state or local libraries, archives, and other cultural heritage institutions.  Since its launch in 2006, over 600 partner organizations have used Archive-It’s end-to-end hosted solution to create, store, and provide access to collections of web content.

In addition to the core functionality of capturing and preserving web-based content, the Archive-It web application allows users to add, import, and export descriptive metadata, and allows for public browsing and full-text search via archive-it.org. Archive-It also provides APIs and other tools to facilitate external integrations with local websites and repositories or third-party discovery or preservation storage services.

Archive-it partners benefit from access to in-depth training, documentation, and technical support from the Internet Archive’s professional web archivists and engineers."

What is the Internet Archive?

"Since its inception as a non-profit digital library in 1996, Internet Archive has focused on ensuring the availability and accessibility of human knowledge by creating a digital library to permanently store digital content from all over the world, for anyone to view at any time. The Internet Archive is the world’s largest public web archive, and all collections are freely and publicly accessible."

What is the Wayback Machine?

"The Internet Archive Wayback Machine is a service that allows people to visit archived versions of Web sites. Visitors to the Wayback Machine can type in a URL, select a date range, and then begin surfing on an archived version of the Web. Imagine surfing circa 1999 and looking at all the Y2K hype, or revisiting an older version of your favorite Web site. The Internet Archive Wayback Machine can make all of this possible."