- Find Information
- Research Guides
- HIS 6913: The Transatlantic Slave Trade (Felipe-Gonzalez)
HIS 6913: The Transatlantic Slave Trade (Felipe-Gonzalez)
- Getting Started
- Books by Topic
- Primary Sources by Topic - Online Digital Collections
Special thanks to Jorge Felipe-Gonzalez, Assistant Professor of History for numerous resource recommendations.
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Subjects: Art & Art History, History, Languages, Modern, Newspapers
- Slave Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseWidely considered the most important resource on the Trans-Atlantic slave trade. Comprises 36,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Users can look for particular voyages of documented slaving expeditions, create listings, tables, and maps that draw on the database, examine estimates of the slave trade, and locate the African name, age, gender, origin, country, and places of embarkation and disembarkation of individuals. Website includes 3 databases: the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, the Intro-American Slave Trade, and the African Names database. Special features include introductory essays, maps, timelines of estimates of captives embarked and disembarked, an image gallery, and more.
Primary Source Databases: Legal Materials & Government Documents
- Hein Online: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowIncludes all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Search the entire database or browse by slavery statutes (state and federal), judicial cases, scholarly articles, e-books, bibliography, and external links.
- LLMC Digital This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of digitized historical legal material and government documents. Includes publications of state, federal, and territorial governments of the U.S, as well as foreign and international legal and government materials and indigenous law.. All documents are available full text in PDF. Date range: 14th-21st centuries. Title List.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers - 19th Century (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBritish government documents from the 19th century. Includes Bills and Acts, Command Papers, House of Commons papers and Hansard parliamentary debates. Primary source documents for British history as well as British Colonies in India, Asia, Africa, and the Caribbean.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.
- HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes full-text documents from more than 25,000 works of local and family histories, as well as the full-text documents and indexes from the U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1940, and U.S. City Directories, 1821-1989. Includes the 1850 and 1860 Slave Schedules and the U.S., Freedman's Bank Records, 1865-1874.
Primary Sources: Historical Newspapers
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text/full-image of seven major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2018), Washington Post (1877-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2008), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), the Guardian (1821-2003) Observer (1791-2003), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), and the Chicago Defender (1909-2010). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.
- NewspaperArchive: Texas Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable full image access to many historical newspapers from all across Texas, including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). (Some years are incomplete.) Database covers 1813-2022.
- African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowDatabase includes 270 African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1800-1899. Provides full-text access to nearly 500 newspapers from urban to rural regions, large cities to small towns across the U.S.
- Latin American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowMore than 280 newspapers published during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from more than 20 countries in the region, from Argentina to Venezuela.
- African American Newspapers from Chronicling America (Library of Congress)Currently includes 43 African American newspapers published around the United States from 1836-1922. The number of available issues per paper varies. Includes the Dallas Express.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view more than a million digitized newspaper pages. Coverage is from 1836-1922. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Primary Sources: Historical Periodicals
- African American Historical Serials Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of primary sources related to African American life and culture features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. It comprises newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowDigital collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 covering advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1940 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowOffers full-image access to over 1,100 periodicals published in America between 1741 and 1940. Indexed titles include general interest magazines as well as professional and scholarly journals covering history, politics, the arts and sciences, folklore, and Americana.
- British Periodicals 1 & 2 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 587 journals that comprise the microfilm collection Early British Periodicals Series I and II. Covers topics in literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences.
- Early American Imprints, Series 1: Evans, 1639-1800 (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowBased on Evans' American Bibliography, this database contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the American Colonies or United States from 1639 through 1800. Includes an additional 1,100 titles from Bristol's Supplement to Evans.
- Early American Imprints Series 2: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1800-1819 (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 36,000 American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published from the years 1800 through 1819. Also contains state papers and government materials; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Parts 1 & 2 (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBased on The English Short Title Catalogue, a historical bibliography of works printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, ECCO provides more than 180,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800.
Primary Source Database Trials
When database trials relevant to the topic of the Transatlantic slave trade are available, they will be linked here. If no links appear, there are no current trials. Please note trial expiration dates.