Rhetoric and Composition

Databases and sources supporting rhetoric and composition studies at UTSA.

Key Resources

ComPile
CompPile focuses on post-secondary writing (not speaking or conversing). It integrates journal articles, review-essays, notes and comments, books, dissertations, ERIC items, and edited collections

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Incorporates the indexes CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication and mass media studies. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals and selected coverage of over 230 more, with full-text articles for more than 240 journals. Coverage for some titles begins in 1915.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes thousands of titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials, from the late 19th century to the present.
Oxford English Dictionary - OED (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for etymological studies containing the meaning, history, and derivation of over half a million words in the English language. Provides examples of both current and historical word usage through more than 2.5 million quotations from a variety of sources. Includes etymological analysis, pronunciation, and variant spellings.