Formerly known as Testing and Education Reference Center (TERC).
Provides access to comprehensive information related to colleges and universities, financial aid, and test preparation. Features interactive online practice tests for preparatory examinations in PDF format, including the ACT, CLEP, GED, LSAT, GMAT, GRE, SAT and others.
Users must create an individual account to take tests and track progress.
Interactive language learning software. Includes vocabulary flash cards, pronunciation practice, activities/games, language and culture blogs, online social communities, video-based grammar lessons. Basic to intermediate level. More than 90 languages offered, including ESL.
Users MUST create an account when they first use this online tool - that is how it tracks your learning progress. Access is available on or off campus AFTER creating an account. For mobile access, in the Transparent Language menu click on “Get the App” for the most recent version, and use the login and password provided to activate the app once downloaded.
Premier resource for etymological studies containing the meaning, history, and derivation of over half a million words in the English language. Provides examples of both current and historical word usage through more than 2.5 million quotations from a variety of sources. Includes etymological analysis, pronunciation, and variant spellings.
A database of maps and bibliographical references on the structural properties of languages. Includes information on location, linguistic affiliation and basic classification features of more than 2,650 languages. A joint project of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology and the Max Planck Digital Library.
Cross-searches multidisciplinary suite of Alexander Street Press streaming video, audio and text collections, including: Music Online series (Classical, Jazz, World, etc.), Classical Scores Library, Film Scripts Online, Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video Online, Anthropology Online, Social Work Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Engineering Case Studies Online, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, North American Women's Letters and Diaries, and Women and Social Movements in the United States. Use Advanced Search to search specific collections. Does not include Latino Literature.
A large multidisciplinary streaming video collection in subjects as diverse as art & architecture, history, ethnography, theater, dance, music, criminal justice, education, counseling and therapy, science, business, political science and more. Includes the ability to save playlists and to create video clips for presentations.
Digitally streams over 1,000 educational videos in the Humanities & Social Sciences and Business & Economics collections, including anthropology, art & architecture, business & economics, communication, criminal justice, English, geography, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology and world languages.
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes producers such as the BBC, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, and PBS.
Selected full-text news articles from thousands of U.S., African, Asian, Australian, and European newspapers, newswires, and blogs. Most sources are in English with some Spanish-language sources from the Americas. Does not include paid advertising, photographs, or images. -- Texas newspapers -- Access Business News
Features full text for some 200 regional U.S. newspapers, 30 international newspapers, newswires, select newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times. Coverage of Middle Eastern and Asian-Pacific newspapers, such as the Jakarta Post, the Hong Kong Standard, Jordan Today, and The Australian, is particularly notable. Also contains full-text television and radio news transcripts.
Software Programs at UTSA and on Library Computers