- Find Information
- Research Guides
- ES 5143: Technical Writing for Environmental Science (Young)
ES 5143: Technical Writing for Environmental Science (Young)
Library Databases: Environmental Science
Databases are the best way to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles and eprints. Several key databases are listed below, but if you're having trouble finding something, try one of the many databases listed on our Environmental Sciences Databases page. And don't forget to click "more" to see additional resources.
Environmental Sciences Databases
- UTSA Libraries Environmental Science Research GuideAll UTSA Libraries subscribed databases in Environmental Sciences & Ecology
- Agricola (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window(AGRICultural OnLine Access) Consists of two freely accessible, web-based resources published by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. The Online Public Access Catalog describes books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by the National Agricultural Library. The Journal Article Citation Index describes journal articles, book chapters, reports, reprints, and other research literature on agriculture and related fields such as chemistry, energy, food science, geography, life science, natural resources, and veterinary medicine.
- Environment Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 900 U.S. and international journals covering the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Also includes conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations, and private corporations. Expanded coverage of energy-related issues is available beginning in 1994.
Additional Environmental Science Databases
- Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.
- Dissertations & Theses @UTSA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs to doctoral dissertations and master's theses authored by students at UTSA. Abstracts and full-image PDFs are available for most titles. Coverage is from 1996 to the present. For pre-1996 UTSA dissertations, see Dissertations & Theses Global.
- Pollution Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides summaries of over 950 scientific research publications and government policies relating to all types of environmental pollution. Emphasis is on information needed to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations. Pollution Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles from over 400 journals, as well as papers, reports, books, conference proceedings, and reviews on the sustainability of natural resources. Sustainability Science Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
- Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 1,000 international technical and scientific publications on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal, and government publications. Water Resources Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journal articles, e-books, book chapters and major reference works published by Wiley in science, technology, medicine, business, humanities and social sciences. Significant full text.