Women's History, U.S.

A vast collection of primary sources, as well as document projects, that examine interpretive questions concerning U.S. women's history in social movements from colonial times through the twentieth century. Provides access to documents, images, books, chronologies, biographies, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies. New primary documents and document projects are added annually.

An extensive collection of mostly primary sources from the 1700s to the mid-20th century that trace the evolution of women's rights in the United States, Britain, Canada, continental Europe, and New Zealand, among other geographic areas. Topics include the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, the education of girls and women, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, women's voluntary associations, political and social reform, biography and autobiography, women writers, and more. Includes books and historical journals, with most materials in English, and others representing 14 additional languages.

Includes over 100 types of primary sources covering the long nineteenth century. Of special interest for Women's History are the following Collections in this database: Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton; Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt; History of Women (containing many suffrage and anti-suffrage newspapers); and The Suffragist (official paper of the National Woman's Party, founded by Alice Paul)

Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

Chronicles various aspects of women's lives in North America from Colonial times through 1950. As the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence in existence, it includes 150,000 pages of published and previously unpublished letters and diaries by 1,325 women authors. Limited biographical information is included.

Features full-text access to over 175 journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, and other materials that provide historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and historical changes in gender roles.

Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.

Extensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current.