- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Family History Resources
Family History Resources
Sources to discover your family background
Personal Names: Books
A Guide to Names and Naming Practices (.pdf)Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2006Produced by the United Kingdom to aid with difficulties commonly encountered with names from around the globe.
A Dictionary of First Names by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2007Covers new as well as traditional names: origin, meaning, popularity, famous fictional and historical bearers of the name, tables of popular names by year and region, names from other languages.
Dictionary of American Family Names by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2003Detailed information on meaning, nationality, alternate spellings, common forenames associated, and frequency of surnames.- A History of British Surnames by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2014Introduction to the history of hereditary surnames in Britain from their first appearance to the present day.
African Names: Names from the African Continent for Children and Adults by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor CS2375.A33 S74 1993Publication Date: 2000More than a thousand names and surnames from the African continent. Names listed alphabetically and include country of origin.- Origin of Spanish Names : Cómo Te Llamas y Por Que Te Llamas Así by Call Number: ITC Library CS2741 .S33 1981Publication Date: 1981
Hispanic Surnames and Family History by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor CS2745 .P55 1996Publication Date: 1996- Spanish Surnames in the Southwestern United States by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor CS2745 .W66Publication Date: 1978
- Diccionario Etimológico Comparado de Nombres Propios de Persona by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor CS2367 .T42 1986Publication Date: 1986
Dictionary of German Names by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor CS2541 .B313 2002Publication Date: 2002English-language reference for more than 15,000 German family names, including variant spellings as well as the meaning and origin of each name.
A Lexicon of Greek Personal Names by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2010A comprehensive listing of all named individuals from the ancient Greek-speaking world.
An Anthropology of Names and Naming by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2006Many philosophers and linguists suggest that names are 'just' labels, but parents internationally are determined to get their children's names 'right'. This collection of essays provides comparative ethnography through which we examine the politics of naming; the extent to which names may be property-like; and the power of names themselves, both to fix and to destabilize personal identity. and daily social life.
Jewish Given Names and Family Names by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2001The bibliography is a highly analytic one, recording published materials in a wide variety of research languages treating Jewish anthroponymy in the broadest sense from historical, sociological, and linguistic perspectives.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Baby Names by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 1999This guide includes an encyclopaedia of international baby names, as well as advice on choosing your child's name.
Dictionnaire des noms de famille du Canada français. Anthroponymie et généalogie. 2e édition by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2019Dictionary of French Canadian Family names
In the Traces of Our Name: The Influence of Given Names in Life by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2011This book emphasizes the influence of the name given at birth in terms of the construction of subjectivity.
