- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Graphic Novels and Comics
Graphic Novels and Comics
How to find graphic novels and resources about graphic novels, including history and criticism.
Ebooks
Lessons Drawn by Imagine a classroom where students put away their smart phones and enthusiastically participate in learning activities that unleash creativity and refine critical thinking. Students today live and learn in a transmedia environment that demands multi-modal writing skills and multiple literacies.
From Comic Strips to Graphic Novels by Call Number: EbookThis essay collection examines the theory and history of graphic narrative as one of the most interesting and versatile forms of storytelling in contemporary media culture. Its contributions test the applicability of narratological concepts to graphic narrative, examine aspects of graphic narrative beyond the 'single work', consider the development of particular narrative strategies within individual genres, and trace the forms and functions of graphic narrative across cultures.
Comics and Memory in Latin America by Call Number: EbookLatin American comics and graphic novels have a unique history of addressing controversial political, cultural, and social issues. This volume presents new perspectives on how comics on and from Latin America both view and express memory formation on major historical events and processes.
Highlights
Superheroes! by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN6710 .M279 2013"Together again for the first time, here come the greatest comic book superheroes ever assembled between two covers: down from the heavens Superman and the Mighty Thor or swinging over rooftops the Batman and Spider-Man; star-spangled, like Captain America and Wonder Woman, or clad in darkness, like the Shadow and Spawn; facing down super-villains on their own, like the Flash and the Punisher or gathered together in a team of champions, like the Avengers and the X-Men!
The Cambridge Companion to the Graphic Novel by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN6710 .T377 2017Since the graphic novel rose to prominence half a century ago, it has become one of the fastest growing literary/artistic genres, generating interest from readers globally. The Cambridge Companion to the Graphic Novel examines the evolution of comic books into graphic novels and the distinct development of this art form both in America and around the world.
Ethics in the Gutter by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor PN6710 .P65 2017Ethics in the Gutter: Empathy and Historical Fiction in Comics explores an often-overlooked genre of graphic narratives: those that fictionalize historical realities. While autographics, particularly those that place the memoirist in the context of larger cultural conversations, have been the objects of sustained study, fictional graphic narratives that--as Linda Hutcheon has put it--both "enshrine and question" history are also an important area of study.
Death, Disability, and the Superhero by Call Number: Ebook and PrintThe Thing. Daredevil. Captain Marvel. The Human Fly. Drawing on DC and Marvel comics from the 1950s to the 1990s and marshaling insights from three burgeoning fields of inquiry in the humanities--disability studies, death and dying studies, and comics studies-- José Alaniz seeks to redefine the contemporary understanding of the superhero.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical scholarship on literature, criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes thousands of titles including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials, from the late 19th century to the present.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
