The UTSA Carlos Alvarez College of Business, in collaboration with the UTSA Library and the VREDKE Office, purchases subscriptions for databases for annual and limited use to benefit the research of faculty members and students (primarily those pursuing a Ph.D. degree). It is based on a rotational subscription model with the objective of sustaining our upward research-trajectory and impact, while being mindful of the scarce resources.
Data on U.S. and international public and private companies, M&A deals, executives and boards worldwide; news, investment research, and more. Includes powerful screening tools, chart builders, and Office Plug-In modeling tool. By S&P Global.
Access to Capital IQ is for current faculty, staff, and students only and requires approval by Capital IQ. To request a new Capital IQ account:
1. Click on the Capital IQ database link above; login with abc123 and passphrase; complete DUO authentication.
2. Click on New User in the top right header and enter your utsa.edu email.
3. Check your email box for confirmation and finish the sign-up. Your login credentials will be provided via email from Capital IQ.
Once your Capital IQ account is created, for future access you will need to use the proxied link to Capital IQ above on the library database page, and then your personal Capital IQ credentials to log in.
Contains up to a 20-year history of fundamental financial, statistical, and market data for corporations, banks, S&Ls, ADRs/ADSs, business segments, geographic areas, industry composites and indexes in 'North America' as well as 'Global.' Extensive coverage of annual and quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Cash Flow, and supplemental data items is provided on over 19,000 active and inactive publicly traded companies. Includes currency files with cross-translation tables for more than 100 currencies. Particularly useful for advanced quantitative analysis, including database queries, or for access to company/industry financial statements and data. Updated quarterly.
Comprehensive business and financial data for U.S. and international public and private companies, active and inactive. Includes executive compensation data, bonds, Country Insight, Supply Chain, Investext analyst reports and screening tools.
Provides exclusive investment tools, up-to-date Morningstar financial data, research, and independent opinions on mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds. Ratings and risk information are updated daily. Only a few people can use this database at one time.
Bureau van Dijk (BvD) is a Moody’s Analytics company. ORBIS contains financial information on listed and private companies from 220+ countries; bank and insurance reports; comprehensive ownership/subsidiary coverage; directors and contacts; market reports, M&A activity and more. Features the ability to screen based on 100+ criteria. Complementary access to the Pan-European dataset (AMADEUS), global company dataset (OSIRIS), and ORBIS dataset through WRDS under Bureau van Dijk data.
Provides analyst reports; securities research; economic company, product and industry research reports from J.P. Morgan Chase & Company. U.S and global coverage. 2011-current.
Specialized Financial / Investment Databases - Available on Designated Workstations
Provides analysis and quotes for equities and indices; current company, industry, and market news; and economic data for countries around the world.
UTSA faculty, students, and staff can search Bloomberg from one of sixteen workstations. One workstation is located in the 2nd floor Business Information Hub in the John Peace Library building. Fifteen workstations are located in the Financial Studies Lab in the Alvarez College of Business.
Bloomberg Terminal’s Log-in Requirement:
• Bloomberg is only available on designated workstations at UTSA.
• First-time users: in order to obtain your Bloomberg login credentials, please log into a Bloomberg workstation with your UTSA abc123 and register with the Bloomberg system using your UTSA email.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a comprehensive data management platform for financial, accounting, economic and management data accessible through a single interface. Access to specific datasets depends on UTSA subscriptions, including Compustat, CRSP, IBES, Risk Metrics, Bureau van Dijk, Audit Analytics, and more. Includes deep archives of historical data. WRDS may be accessed via (a) the web interface, (b) a UNIX terminal session, and (c) PC SAS Connect, Matlab, Stata, R, and Python.
WRDS is only available to these categories of current UTSA users:
• PhD students
• Master’s and undergraduate students
• Research Assistants (sponsored by a faculty member)
• Visiting faculty
• Shared class accounts (must be requested by a sponsoring College of Business faculty member)