Research Design
- International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods covers all communication research methods, including new and advanced methods and measurement tools developed in other fields that may be useful to communication scholars. Although there is some overlap with methods used in other areas of social science (i.e., sociology, anthropology, linguistics, business, and philosophy), the encyclopedia highlights research settings and challenges that communication scholars encounter in their day-to-day work. Information is presented in three parts: foundations of empirical research, methods of data collection, and methods of data analysis.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowContains content on research methods from books, journals and reference sources; research methods videos; tutorials; case studies showing how research methods are applied; and practice datasets from actual research. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes entire "Little Green Book" (quantitative research) and "Little Blue Book" (qualitative research) series.
- Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowContains more than 120 hours of video, including tutorials, case studies, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. Videos are well-suited for flipped instruction, embedding in course management systems, and for use in-class. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods covers all communication research methods, including new and advanced methods and measurement tools developed in other fields that may be useful to communication scholars. Although there is some overlap with methods used in other areas of social science (i.e., sociology, anthropology, linguistics, business, and philosophy), the encyclopedia highlights research settings and challenges that communication scholars encounter in their day-to-day work. Information is presented in three parts: foundations of empirical research, methods of data collection, and methods of data analysis.
Handbook of Survey Methodology for the Social Sciences by ISBN: 9781461438755Publication Date: 2012-06-21Addresses issues throughout all phases of survey design and implementation. Chapters examine the major survey methods of data collection, providing expert guidelines for asking targeted questions, improving accuracy and quality of responses, while reducing sampling and non-sampling bias.
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by ISBN: 0190243651Publication Date: 2016-01-08Provides the community-oriented researcher with tools to learn about and apply cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. The Handbook presents a number of innovative methodologies relevant to community-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects.
