History of Education in San Antonio

The Portal to Texas History

Portal to Texas History
The Portal is a gateway to digitized Texas history materials from repositories across the state. It is a great source for local newspapers that may not be available in other databases. However, it also includes books, photographs, and archival materials that may be useful.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text current and historical newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority presses of the U.S. and Canada. Provides the unique viewpoint of Hispanic, Native Peoples, African American, Caribbean, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, and Jewish communities. Dates of coverage: 1959-current.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text/full-image of several major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2019), Washington Post (1877-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), Guardian (1821-2003) Observer (1791-2003), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), and the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), El Paso Times (1881-2009), El Paso Herald (1896-1996). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers - Gale
Provides full-text access to nearly 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1899 from urban to rural regions, large cities to small towns across the U.S.
Index to San Antonio Register [electronic resource] : 1931-
Indexes all available issues of this locally focused, black-oriented weekly newspaper from May 29, 1931 through 1959. The general subject in the index is "Education," but also search under "Schools," "Teachers," "Colleges and Universities," or the names of specific high schools, e.g. "Phyllis Wheatley High School." Full text of the newspaper in microfilm is available in the UTSA John Peace Library.