Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering Resources

What is a standard?

What are Standards, Codes, Specifications, and Technical Regulations?

Standard

A standard is a document that specifies the characteristics of a product, process, or service, such as dimensions, safety aspects, and performance requirements.

Code

A Code refers to laws or regulations that specify minimum standards to protect public safety and health such as codes for the construction of buildings. Voluntary standards are incorporated into building codes

Specifications

Specifications are a set of conditions and requirements of the precise and limited application that provide a detailed description of a procedure, process, material, product, or service for use primarily in procurement and manufacturing. Standards may be referenced or included in specifications.

Technical Regulations

Technical regulations are mandatory government requirements that define the characteristics and/or the performance requirements of a product, service, or process (see also Regulation).

Finding Standards

ACI Collection (American Concrete Institute)
The American Concrete Institute (ACI) is a leading authority and resource for standards and technical resources for concrete design, construction, and materials.

For questions about ACI please contact the engineering librarian Diane Lopez.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass (formerly ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library) is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including the ASTM journals and symposia papers (also known as Standard Technical Publications). The collection covers a broad range of engineering disciplines including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new window
Designed for engineers across many fields and sub-fields, this database allows the user to independently or simultaneously search the Compendex and Inspec databases. Provides access to the international engineering literature including thousands of journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, reports, and technical standards.
IEEE Xplore/IET Electronic Library Online (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards published by IEEE and the IEE. Emphasis is on electrical engineering, computer science, and information systems.

Standards Organizations

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO is a non-governmental network of the national standards institutes of 148 countries. You can view a list of standards in the ISO Catalogue.
ISO Catalogue
ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 161 national standards bodies. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges.
ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
ANSI oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more.